Motivation logo

Let Your Worries Roll Away Like Droplets On An Elephant Ear

The Healing Power Of Nature

By Latousha YoungPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
God's Creations

Born and raised in Ponchatoula, Louisiana, a small country town, "Elephant Ears" exist naturally in nature. On the street where I grew up, they can be found in several spots growing in groups. It's something about these plants that I love. If rain droplets or some form of liquid contact the leaf of the plant, it forms small balls like a bead and roll off the leaf undisturbed. If you ever find yourself with the opportunity to spit on one, it's a magical experience watching the ball of liquid form and roll off onto the ground.

The "Elephant Ear" is what I grew up knowing them as, but they are actually a plant belonging to the Araceae Family, Colocasia as the listed Genus. A few regions where these plants germinate naturally are in New Zealand, Philippines, Africa, United States, Africa, Trinidad, and Rome. They typically grow around moist areas, but this is not always the case. To the eye, they look like and are shaped like and have the characteristics of an actual elephant's ear.

When life throws me lemons, I find myself wondering down the road begging of nature to give me peace. I look to the Heavens and enjoy the Cumulus clouds, the blue sky, and the backdrop of the landscape that has been provided for usIt has proven to be quite relaxing and literally a breath of fresh air. As an adult, it reminds me of the innocence of childhood. Sometimes, we as a people, need to be reminded how we used to deal with stress and anxiety. If you were suspended from school or had a run-in with a fellow classmate, it was okay because after school that walk down the road was all you needed.

It may not have been Elephant Ears in your neighborhood. Maybe it was that walk to the community center to play basketball or walking to the corner store to grab a bag of chips. However you found peace and calm seemed to work just fine for that moment. So my question is, why is it that in adulthood most of the means we use to find comfort are toxic and even sometimes fatal.

Many turn to drugs, alcohol, excessive sex, crime, and other forms of toxic behavior. I too have been trapped by these obsessive actions. I've found myself in this unhealthy cycle of what is referred to as self-medicating and it's cousin, criminal activity. Why don't the Elephant Ears do the trick anymore?

Some may say that childhood stress and stressors are less intense and life altering. I would argue that childhood stress and adult stress is still stress. Making a "C" on that math exam when you are competing for Valedictorian is just as stressful to a child as not being able to pay mortgage on-time as it is to an adult. Yet, we would rather pick up a bottle of liquior, a gun, or a blunt to cope with the discomfort of being discomforted.

I long to be able to cope by usage of what has been provided for me here Earth. I ask myself, " Is it too late?" Can I return to a time where nature was all the peace that I needed. When riding bicycles through the woods or finding a turtle moseying across the road made your day.

Personally, I participate in most of these toxic behaviors to some degree. However, music and writing is my center of release and peace. I am a logomaniaist. By definition, it is one that has a great enthusiasm for words.

I challenge everyone to not forget about nature. I enjoy every moment of it. On some days when the temperature is not too hot, I walk the streets. While doing so I always find myself having conversations with my Creator. It's usually a rant and rave of me fussing at myself. Then, I glance to the side of the road and I always stop and take time to watch the water roll an "Elephant Ear".

Works Cited

www.google.com

www.wikipedia.org

healing
1

About the Creator

Latousha Young

My Bio is too big to fit into this tiny little box.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.