Motivation logo

Let’s Celebrate!

Celebrate 50 years back to 1969

By Heidi Fitzsimmons @RiseLoveLivePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

As you remember, the original journey began last year, the day after my birthday. That day, I realized the next birthday was going to be one of the “big ones” that we tend to celebrate in life. If I am lucky enough, I will be able to celebrate 4 more “big ones”, but today we are celebrating this one!

Well, here we are we made it! We have arrived on our BIG day!

And the end to our 100-day Count Down of our “Journey to the Best Version of Me”, which has morphed ever so nicely into the “Best version of US” and encouraging you to Live Life to it’s fullest and be the best version of YOU that you can be!

And frankly friends, that is what matters. Yes, I do still want to lose a few pounds, continue with my morning stretches and have a fun food adventure cooking my way through “It’s All Good“. However, I am working equally as hard (and maybe even a little harder) on the inner me vs. the outer me.

Practicing Meditation, Daily Gratitude, and finding my Inner Peace.

Motivation is definitly one of the driving forces behind these articles and one of our best tools for our toolbox. And some of the stories that I share with you, might be a little more on the serious side and that is good and has its place, but this one is going to be FUN and has a little twist to it!

In all reality, I do NOT need an excuse to celebrate! Any little moment of happiness is always reason enough for me to break open the prosecco!

Birthdays – no matter what special year you are celebrating or what decade you fall within your life, it is a wonderful opportunity to let go and embrace a little new fun and excitement! In the same breath, it is also a perfect time to observe a day of well-deserved rest and relaxation!

My husband and I, both, have summer birthdays and we are definitely blessed. We always enjoy easy-breezy days of fun in the sun and adventures to the beach!

This week’s featured image is a picture from one of our trips to Block Island.

For 11 years now, we plan a mini-vacation to celebrate on Rhode Island and/or Block Island and of course along with our annual trip to Water’s Edge! For me, there is nothing better than toes in the sand, eyes on the ocean and a cold drink in hand, ah so relaxing and rejuvenating!

Where do you celebrate your birthday? Please share in the comments!

Now, what is our twist for today?!?

We are going to celebrate a few of the big events from 1969!

January 30th - The Beatles Final LIVE Performance

The Beatles perform on the rooftop of the Apple offices at 3 Savile Row, London, in what became the climax of their “Let It Be film”. The Beatles played tracks including “Don’t Let Me Down”, “I’ve Got a Feeling”, “Dig A Pony” and “Get Back”.

Beatles Bible

The Beatles final “official concert” was actually back in 1966 on August 29th in San Francisco. This was “unofficial” and unannounced – what a surprise for London!

July 20th - they landed and walked on the moon!

That’s one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind!

Neil Armstrong

And a little fun fact – for twenty years my dad told me that I always had so much energy because I was born the day they landed on the moon! The news is on and they are celebrating “the 20th anniversary of the moon-landing” – on the WRONG day!

Stay with me here folks, I call up my dad and tell him what is on TV – he exclaims, “OH I’m so sorry not to call you this morning, to wish you a happy birthday!” DAD – my birthday is in two days NOT today! OOPS … too funny … love you dad!

In his defense, there is a copy of the newspaper from July 22, 1969, in a local restaurant. The front page is framed, and the main story is an article with the announcement of them landing on the moon! I can see where he got that mixed-up!

August 15th thru August 18th - The Woodstock Music and Art Festival

In 1969, the country was deep into the controversial Vietnam War, a conflict that many young people vehemently opposed. It was also the era of the civil rights movement, a period of great unrest and protest.Woodstock was an opportunity for people to escape into music and spread a message of unity and peace.

History – Woodstock

Max Yasgur ~ Owner of the Dairy Farm in Bethel NY

Last-minute location for the concert!

If you have any interest in seeing some of the talented musicians that entertained the crowds during this infamous concert [e.g.: Santana, Joe Cocker, Crosby Stills Nash & Young, and Jimi Hendrix to name just a few] – complete a simple search on YouTube to find their performances.

I strongly encourage you to do so!

November 10, 1969 - An "All-American Favorite" - the first episode of Sesame Street was aired!

The show was conceived in 1966 during discussions between television producer Joan Ganz Cooney and Carnegie Corporation vice president Lloyd Morrisett. Their goal was to create a children’s television show that would “master the addictive qualities of television and do something good with them”, such as helping young children prepare for school.

Wikipedia

Photo Cred - Wikipedia

When I was younger, I had a handful of “regular” television programs, but I have to say that Sesame Street and The Muppets were my MOST favorite!

I hope you enjoyed this walk down memory lane!

It goes without saying, that I had a lot of fun learning a little more about the history of the year that I was born, especially the fun-facts around the Woodstock concert! My mom always said, if I was 19, I absolutely would have been there – hippy girl at heart, I guess!

When your special day comes around – I wish you a very Happy Birthday and remember to have FUN and Enjoy!

Enjoyment is an incredible energizer to the human spirit.

John C. Maxwell

Until next time … Peace and Blessings, Friends!

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Heidi Fitzsimmons @RiseLoveLive

I am Caring, Loving and Fun!

Thank you for the privilege to share my stories with you. I seek to inspire you! Rise to the Occasion | Love Everyone | Live a Life worth Living (repeat). Be the best version of you and live life to its fullest!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.