Motivation logo

Learning To Surf

Life stuff

By Tammy Lee Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Life is like a wave. The ebb and the flow we experience is constant and inevitable. Things come and they go. Moments shift, emotions change, we feel happiness then sadness etc...One without the other is next to impossible. Everything has its polar opposite. For example, let's look at an actual wave...the water at the bottom (wave trough) begins to move upward into a wave crest. If neither the bottom or top of the wave existed, the wave itself would not exist. Make sense? There are the ups, the downs and everything in between. Learning how to navigate and find the grace and balance between the three, is where our work lies. This journey is something our souls crave.

In all of this discovery, we need to be patient and kind with ourselves. This can be an arduous task. At times, we may feel we can't bear the weight or that the light at the end of the tunnel has dissipated from view. We often try to run and hide, burying ourselves in temporary fixes or bad habits. These are our conditions and patterns we have developed when being faced with fight or flight situations. It's ok. It's natural. We are human after all.

That being said, there comes a moment when we need to truly realize that we are "in the world, but not of the world" Yes, we are physically here, but our flesh and bones are transient. Our spirit is eternal. The energy we are comprised of will remain long after our bodies dissolve into the earth and air.

On a personal note, my life has recently taken a turn. I am moving through a major life change and this "riding the wave" thing can be tricky and challenging. As I sit back and witness what is happening, I can happily say that the work I have been doing is apparent. The grace is not too far from reach. In fact, I feel its presence with me more moments than not. Things that would normally create a reaction or a strong emotion inside of me feel lighter and easier to manoeuvre through. I am not saying I don't FEEL...believe me, I feel all the feels. The difference is, I don't let the emotions take me down. I bail from the surf board before the wave breaks right over the top of me.

I know there are lots of questions about how to get to this point and to be honest, it varies for everyone. One of my purposes in life is to share my experiences in the hopes that someone can relate even just a little bit and feel some ease through their process. You only know what you know and you don't know what you don't know. Once you know something, you can't un~know it. How's that for a tongue twister?! HAHA! Read it again if you need to.

Moving on...

When we make the decision to heal, let go and create new space for truth to unveil itself, there is something magical materializes. An awareness generates, unleashes this undeniable clarity and suddenly we understand. We may even see reason. This is such a blessing and doesn't always come as second nature, even when it is staring at us point blank in the face. It's truly a beautiful thing. The Universe is literally working in our favor, even when it feels uncomfortable, strange and foreign. When we see past the conditions and the masks, we experience freedom. From what I have been told, this is also what is felt when riding the perfect wave...SATORI.

My wish for you is that you start taking baby steps towards whatever it is holding you back from feeling this magic. It may not be clear in the beginning, but keep searching. I promise it's there. Most people give up too early and right before the breakthrough is about to be experienced...Believe me, I am living proof! I have felt both, missing the target and coming into the light. It is such a powerful shift that I am continually inspired to keep going...to keep riding those waves, no matter big and scary they may get. I wish this for you...

self help
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Lee

A mystical gypsy at heart on a path of healing and transformation toward enlightenment.

Lightworker, adventurer, healer, lover of life.

Let’s get lost together...

Wander with me through a sea of words and translations.

Only LOVE is real <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.