Motivation logo

Just when I thought it was OK

Living life looking out

By Kate BolterPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Me enjoying the sunshine

I’m sat in my window, the sun is burning happily into my flat and although I can’t cross the threshold I can at least enjoy the beautiful weather along with the rest of the UK.

Why can’t you leave? I hear you ask

Well, my friend. Despite having had my first punch in the arm, they call that the Pfizer; and having enjoyed the limited freedom that’s been opened up to us, I received a rather angry notification from the NHS Covid 19 app, which I swear is the workings of a pissed off teacher wagging their disapproving finger at me. It told me I need to self -isolate for 7 days as I’ve been in contact with someone with Covid.

Do you know what really burns? Nope not the sun I’m soaking up but the fact I have to adhere to the 7 days despite having tested negative via the lateral flow test.

I know I’m not the only one missing out but I’m pissed because it’s lush out and I can’t see anyone but I was around someone who has it. Who was it? I wish I knew.

So, what have I been doing to stay sane?

Well. I’m already bat sh*t but take a look:

Continued my 9-5 in shipping at my desk in my bedroom- business still need to operate guys

Cleaned, done the washing and hoovered (Yes, I know, that’s standard life)

Worked out- thank you Yoga with Adrianne, 9 Week Control freak and HIIT with Natacha Oceane

Ordered an online food shop (no prosecco. I never said I was smart)

Ordered 3times from Deliveroo- all prosecco prosecco (told you I’m not smart..luckily from a previous drunken experience I’d signed up to Deliveroo Plus- didn't realise this til I looked at my bank account)

Asked a friend to buy me hair dye from Amazon (the colour is Rich plum and looks F*king awesome btw!)

I’ve cried (I’m human ok)

Written (this story, in-case you were wondering)

Read a book on my kindle (The Summer House in Santorini by Samantha Parks- unputdownable)

Scrolled through Instagram until I felt like my head was going to fall off

WATCHED ENGLAND WIN FOOTBALL!!!! Sorry for shouting but I seriously lose it when they play. Oh no, I don’t have any interest in football otherwise- all I know is they kick a ball around. Hell, I didn’t know which team we were, I had to ask a friend! Maybe I am stupid. Oh, and just to top that off; I stubbed my toes 3 times during that game as I was running between kitchen and living room when I heard commotion- my work chair was in between the two.

I guess I did do a lot but, when you’re confined to your own 4 walls with just yourself and the internet for company, it can make you lose your mind but one thing I was sure of- I wasn’t going to get bored, as you can see from my list, there was plenty to do. My kitchen cupboards still need a good clean but pfft- out of sight out of mind, right?

On my first day of freedom, I leapt out of bed at my 05:30 alarm, got my running gear on and pounded the pavements. That first hit of fresh air on my face made my whole mind and body smile

These last 2 years will never be forgotten, obviously. And although we have a taste of freedom, we still have to be so careful right?

The problem is though- it could happen again. And anyone could have to isolate so is this going to stop?

Our lives have completely changed. But to all of you, I hope you’re safe and enjoying the weather and life in general

healing
Like

About the Creator

Kate Bolter

I'm a crazy little 36 year old. Love to write about my travels even though it's been ages since I've been away! (even before Covid)

Majority of my travel was in Australia but also trying to broaden that-eventually!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.