Motivation logo

Just Do It

For the Shy or Anxious Human

By - Karaedan -Published 6 years ago 3 min read
Harley Davidson bike night promo

"If you can't beat fear, do it scared."

Lately I have been forcing myself to do the little ideas I get in my head that I usually shy away from; the things that are not hard to do; the things that just seem pointless or silly because no one else is doing it. When in reality I could be the leader in the situation and truly encourage human beings to step out of their shells and go ahead and do what makes them so them. I can imagine you’re wondering, “what in the hell is she talking about?” So I’m going to give some examples.

Example A: posing like this on a bike. I had the idea and was about to change out of this dress and was like nope, I'm doing it. I felt like I would be an inconvenience or annoying to the other girls that I was with. When I stepped out of the fear and anxiety and went into the, “I’m being selfish to take care of my wants and needs” mentality, it was easy. Honestly, who cares what they think? It’s not like I’m standing there just being an awful human, I just wanted a photograph. The best part was that all of the girls ended up wanting to come with me and most of them wanted a photograph of themselves as well.

Example B: taking a lesser seat than I wanted and going alone to the Sam Smith concert. A few months before the concert I was so ready to buy the tickets closest to the stage and I was not going to accept anything less. It got to the day before the concert and I had many other things I could spend $250 on so I talked myself into not finding anyone to go with me and I bought the next best thing. I had a BLAST. I danced and sang my heart out.

Example C: I noticed at the concert this guy come in with a blue sequin jacket, leather pants, matching leather hat, and you could clearly see that these adolescent girls were behind him talking about him. I assumed they were making fun of him so I crossed the aisle to him, grabbed his hand, and told him that I thought he looked like a rock star and I loved it. Who knows how many humans make fun of him, maybe I was the only one to encourage him to keep being him. I first told myself that I did not have to concern myself in someone else’s life like that but I felt need to follow through with my new way of thinking and doing this small act of kindness to fulfill myself.

All of these ideas I mentally talked myself out of as it popped into my head, as I usually do. The difference with them is that I actually said fuck it and just did them. There have been many more but there are a few of the ones that popped into my head first. Sometimes I talk myself out of things because I believe I’m just doing too much, or it's unnecessary. Come to find out, if I got the idea in the first place that means I want to do it and they're additions to my happiness. It's ALWAYS the little things. One of my all-time favorite quotes, "Just do it!" It’s a shame to not do something with the thought in mind that other people will judge you for it. We’re individual humans with distinct feelings, wants and opinions so we are going to express ourselves as individuals in our separate ways. The bottom line is that we are all oh so only human and it's beautiful.

advice

About the Creator

- Karaedan -

- 24 - Mom - Cancer - Free thinker - New age,old soul - Hippie - I am simply here to encourage you to be yourself by being myself

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    - Karaedan -Written by - Karaedan -

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.