Motivation logo

It’s Time to Fly!

How 2017 was a blessing in disguise.

By Eva SmittePublished 7 years ago 3 min read

This year has been anything but easy. It felt like all of my resources, all my resilience was gone. Battery drained and unable to charge. And I am aware that it has been a challenging year for many. But the challenges are often exactly what we need in order to grow, overcoming obstacles is what shapes us into a person we are meant to become. Without the pain of the transformation - there wouldn’t be a butterfly and a caterpillar would never experience the joy of flying. His model of the world would remain the same - a safe but a very limited existence. By never challenging ourselves, our beliefs and behaviours - we remain stuck on the same level, which might feel comfortable but is not very fulfilling. As a popular quote states: “A comfort zone is a beautiful place but nothing ever grows there.” We often play it small, not living our full potential for various reasons. Many of us are not following our true passions by sticking to the familiar and safe living, not taking any risks and not even exploring who we really are. Not who we are according to our society, our parents, or our own inner monologue, which is very repetitive most of the time. We all have unique talents and gifts we might not even be aware of. Or we are aware of them but keep postponing pursuing our dreams. We are too busy making a living to explore any of that. We are basically living on an autopilot, caught up in a rat race like so many others around us. Hence it is no surprise that sooner or later something outside of us will challenge us. Push us to the next level. Why? Because we are meant to fly. We are meant to step into our greatness. This is why we are on this journey called life, with all its ups and downs. This is why we keep going no matter what - on a deeper level we know it will be worth it in the end.

I definitely feel it was worth it this year. I might have temporarily lost peace of mind and experienced a huge discomfort, but I also gained things like a deeper connection with certain friends who stood by me, level of trust I did not even dream of having with them before shit hit the fan. Ultimately I gained a reminder to have faith in good people and bonds that are supportive and nurturing, to trust in the universe taking care of me no matter what. Which brings me to the gratitude, another reminder that we so often need. To appreciate all the beautiful things that we do have, instead of focusing so much on what is missing. I realised just how lucky I am to have such amazing people in my life, people who are not afraid of my darkness as opposed to only admiring my light. People who remind me of all that I’m blessed with when I seem to forget. People who inspire me to aim higher, to believe in myself, to stop making excuses and to put my ideas into action.

I also gained new valuable insights of my journey, deepening of the understanding of certain dynamics playing out. Dynamics that have been playing on repeat for as long as I can remember myself and that are very limiting to me and my self expression to say the least. Self awareness is not a destination but a never ending process, however certain shake ups speed it up, which feels extremely uncomfortable at the time but extremely rewarding later on. Above all - the events of this year showed me once again the strength, the indestructibility of a human spirit, filled me with certainty that there is a light that never goes out, no matter how dark the night seems. This contrast, this duality of life is something we can all relate to. And it is my belief that if you look into your challenges this year or any other time - you will also find a silver lining there in the end. If not, it is not the end yet. May we all grow into the best versions of ourselves in the years to come.

goals

About the Creator

Eva Smitte

Writer, model, mental health advocate. Instagram @eva_smitte

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Eva SmitteWritten by Eva Smitte

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.