Motivation logo

It's the intention, for me.

Realizing my project was way more than I ever imagined.

By Heather BarrPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
6
It's the intention, for me.
Photo by Jo Szczepanska on Unsplash

I'll go ahead and tell you now, buying and converting a van is ... a whole damn project. But then again, it's so much more than that. ♥️

By Fachy Marín on Unsplash

Converting a van into something to travel in really is a huge bite to take, but the best part is that every step of the way is tailored to you. From installing windows, fans, solar panels to crafting the frame and custom furniture, you're the star and this is your show!

One of my favorite tasks when starting this project was planning. I knew that I wanted a floor-plan that was unique and incorporated the lifestyle I want. Thus, making the perfect challenge for my creative mind to explore! In the beginning, you could say I became a little obsessed. I just had a vision and I wanted so badly to make it a reality. Which, if we're being honest, is one of the most empowering feelings that I've ever had.

Thanks, Van. 😉

As I said before, I completely fell in love with the planning phase of this project. Mainly because converting a van requires you to be intentional with every decision you make. These intentional decisions start as you have to break up your everyday life, then separate what tasks and factors of your routine could be considered a luxury versus a necessity. I'm not sure if this is the number one reason this 'project' carries the weight of something much larger, but it has to be a runner up, at least.

Jotting down a few of your confirmed necessities is the one of the first steps in the design plan. From here, it's all about gathering data on each and every item's dimensions that need to go into the van. So let's see it! Time to put pencil to paper to see if we're realistically going to have space for everything we want.

Challenge accepted! 😈

With my van, this part wasn't as easy as I hoped. When purchasing a van, I opted for the 136 wheel base, which is the shortest in length of RAM Promaster vans. I took this as part of the challenge, and came to peace with the fact that I needed to be extra creative with the available space that I have. Sacrifices had to be made for certain things that I once believed were a necessity, but due to simply not having space they had to go. It's an understatement to say that I was in incredibly focused on my design for a little over the first month. It was rare to not find me sketching my way out of notebooks, racking up Instagram collections and binge watching youtube videos.

Then finally it hit me. I have my floor plan. And oh boy, it's perfect!

Now it's time to get to work!

One thing I technically knew before buying a van to convert, was that every aspect of the build is going to be custom. That's the vibe anyway, that you get from most builders on youtube and forums. Which indeed did sound super challenging, but there really was no way for me to quickly prepare myself for what was about to become my new reality. So, I do want to emphasize what those people said and back it one hundred percent, by saying that that weren't lying at all. The majority of this work is custom and you will have to find creative ways to stay within your budget.

The first trip in the van was technically a salvage trip. My boyfriend, our pup and I hit the road in what was then my creepy and empty, windowless cargo van. Even in that state of the process, I was so happy with my decision. I loved my van then just as much as I do now. Through the bumpy and curvy country roads, we made our way to where I grew up. Taking the evening to rest, we woke up early the next morning to meet up with my brother to salvage parts one of his old campers. With our drills, screwdrivers, scissors, and crowbars in hand -- I'm proud to say we kicked butt out there! We managed to salvage a stove, three windows, a fire extinguisher, tiny curtains and a kitchen drawer that fits around the plumbing of a sink. Most of which are in my van now! Unfortunately, not everything was able to make the cut, but we did our best to make it happen. Honestly, that is just something you have to get used to during this type of project! You win some and you lose some, am I right?

Phases, phases, phases;

I can't express this enough! Breaking up my conversion plan into phases has helped me tremendously with not only staying sane, but also with being able to clearly craft my build. I will say that it can be challenging to stay focused on the phase I'm currently in at times, however being organized is key. This way, whenever I naturally come across new ideas and become inspired towards future phases, I'm able to easily navigate to my future plans and let my creativity go WILD!

To gush a bit, one of my favorite day-dreams is all about the 'Making it Mine' phase. This is not a legitimate term, it's just what I call it. But to elaborate, this phase is where I will finally be able to create my custom curtains, bedding and add in all of those small personal touches that will pull everything together and make the move-in transition as seamless as possible. Yeah... I think about that a lot more than I probably should, as here I am one-third of the way complete with my conversion, but I can't help it! 🙃

I still have much work to do, but I do feel ready and empowered to complete my custom build and hit the road later this year. I'll be writing new pieces on Vocal along the way in addition to posting updates of my build on my website and my (new and currently somewhat bare) IG.

Farewell for now;

Although making scary decisions can be overwhelming at times, this is also what makes the outcome of whatever you're working on so rewarding. This is what makes it worth it. I believe your van, or whatever project you're passionate about and working on, is a reflection of your soul. It's your thoughts, your efforts and your heart all built up and put together. For me, it's put together on wheels. But regardless of what it is that you're working on -- If you're passionate about it, it's going to be a beautiful experience that often feels much larger than just any ole 'project' you've done.

To all of the creators out there, cheers and best wishes! ✌️

happiness
6

About the Creator

Heather Barr

Hi, I'm Heather. Aspiring digital nomad, currently working in the tech space in DevRel. ❤️ 🥑

I love coffee, sunbathing with my cats outside and eating lots of veggies 🤷🏻‍♀️

Twitter: @hnbarr_

Insta: @heatherrbarr

Website: heather-barr.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.