Motivation logo

It's the 2020 Vision for Me

Finding gratitude in a time of struggle

By bymckaylaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - December 2020
11

Around this time last year, my social media feed was filled with posts of people self proclaiming their "20/20 vision" into the new year. Whether it was for the ironic play on words, or for the desire to see the world in a different lens, I think it's safe to say everyone had to shift their perspective as the new year came crashing in. Maybe it came as a relief to those who made their 2020 resolutions to go to the gym, because come April, there was no such thing as going to the gym. But others experienced tragedy: losing family members, being laid off from their jobs, struggling for an income and searching for sanity.

Emotions were high for just about everyone. There were some points where I felt so lost, attempting to tackle the reality of online learning while also trying to absorb the fact that there is a global pandemic. This was not the 2020 vision I had in mind.

But such is life. It’s so easy to focus on the negative, especially when everything seems like a series of unfortunate events. I knew I couldn’t sit at home and dwell on everything going on. I had to view this as an opportunity to take advantage of the time at home. To focus on things I’ve been holding off and really self reflect. And because of this, I discovered a new version of myself:

I graduated from college

The closest thing I had to a graduation was sitting on a couch and seeing the entire class of 2020’s pictures fly through the TV screen like closing movie credits, but I’ll gladly take it. The way my college career ended was unfortunate, but putting the whole situation in perspective just makes me grateful for having the opportunity to graduate. Sure, I missed out on some memories I’ll never get back, but I have to remind myself that everyone has sacrificed something this year- and some sacrifices were much greater than a college graduation.

I started my first job

I can’t even think of the amount of virtual interviews I had at the beginning of the pandemic, hopeful that someone would offer me a full time job. I either got no response at all or an email apologizing and stating, “due to these unprecedented times we will indefinitely have to push back our hiring process.”

Luckily, a few months after graduating, I was offered a job at an agency I had the opportunity to intern and freelance at throughout the last year of my college career. I am now remotely working as a Graphic Designer.

I created my own Instagram platform

For the longest time I’ve been wanting to create a platform where I had the freedom to share my voice. However, I put this off in fear of others’ opinions and judgments. But I had to remind myself that the only opinion that matters is my own. Who cares what other people think about me? As long as I'm happy and following your passion, I'm winning.

Since the creation of this platform, I’ve met so many incredible people around the world who share the same passion and inspire me on a daily basis to be the best version of myself. I highly encourage anyone who is thinking about creating their own page to do so; I never thought I could use Instagram in such a positive and effective way.

(@by.mckayla, if you’re wondering)

I discovered new hobbies

On top of creating a new platform, I picked up a few other hobbies: baking, crafting with resin, hiking, and at home workouts, to name a few. I thank this extra time at home for allowing me to try out new hobbies and activities.

Although I’m used to getting my exercise at the gym, I’ve discovered some amazing hikes and trails while taking advantage of the outdoors. I’ve also discovered a few fitness apps that have truly changed the game for me. Staying motivated to workout is so difficult, especially when you’re working out at home, but the obé fitness app and Les Mills on Demand has been encouraging and effective in the best way possible.

I found gratitude

Journaling has become a staple in my morning routine. I write about what is bothering me, my intentions for the week, my manifestations, and my gratitude. It has allowed me to check in with myself and get a better understanding of how I am feeling and why I am feeling. Especially now, it is so important to check in with your well being.

__

The moral of the story is that you can always find gratitude in a time of struggle. It is always easier said than done, but sometimes you just have to detach yourself from the situation, think about what is causing you to struggle and what you can do to fix it. Take action. Practice positive affirmations and have hope. There is always a light at the end of the tunnel.

2020 vision who????

happiness
11

About the Creator

bymckayla

@bymckayla

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.