Motivation logo

It's A Matter Of Perspective

Perspective, we all have one. Each different to the next. Crafted, Manipulated and Created.

By Jonathon LarkinsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
It's A Matter Of Perspective
Photo by David East on Unsplash

Perspective, we all have one. Each different to the next. Crafted, manipulated and created in adolescents. Your very own upbringing created the person you are. As the fleeting seconds pass by you come to realize that you are all alone.

No one person is the same, discounting genetic similarities of which we are 99.9% the same. unique no one story the same. The difference is perspective.

My parents recently got divorced, this was a cataclysmic event. After 25 years they decided to part ways. Negativity consumed me for the First months. After a while, I began to realise the silver lining. It gave me hope. Fresh ideas and longevity.

1 year into the ordeal, change started to kick in. Finally moving into a new house, a period property. About 200 years old. A slither of hope in an otherwise bleak landscape of my life. Now I could have chosen to focus on the negatives. But I didn't, I am not a perfect person but this happened.

I tried to become a better person. I started to cook. Cooking is amazing as a unifier. The ability to bring people together and experience joy. I became good at something, I can strive to be better and reap the rewards for myself. But in these moments I am not alone. Surrounded by a family who takes great pleasure in my cooking. Dinner time saved me.

Every action has an equal and opposite reaction

Newton's third law, not only is it science. Its life, as for my cooking, my somewhat narcissistic brother. I try to say this in the nicest way possible, after all, he is my brother. Sometimes he doesn't understand that it can be done differently. He has his set ways of doing things and if opposed he doesn't like it. When I cook this happens.

We cannot always expect a good deed to be gratefully accepted, it doesn't happen. If you hold the door open for someone and they simply walk by, do not be shrouded by judgement and frustration. This is a step towards the right reaction. Each negative reaction brings you closer to a positive.

That breakthrough happened around Christmas time, my brother finally appreciated my cooking.

16 years of age and I am finally realising the responsibilities of life. I have been nieve up until the past year, where I have been more open and responsible than ever.

Try it you might actually enjoy it.

Good deeds start by being open to new ideas. A challenging concept, we are set in our ways and this can be a breakthrough challenge. It is worth the struggle no matter what you think. Its never too late to start.

one simple thing to start with is decency. When you are out for walks (if you don't walk daily what are you doing) say hello to passersby. This could lead to a fully-fledged conversation. I've ended talking to strangers for 10–15 minutes. This may not sound like a lot. It will make a difference to your day. Setting an upbeat tone for the rest of the day.

Talking is a great way to make someone's day, a simple hello could change a persons mood, it can even change your own. Be giving.

Give Give Give

As I said earlier every action has an equal and opposite reaction. You have to give to get a return. With business and yourself preservation, you have to give before a unpromised return. Time and money are the pivotal givings of successful people. Whether it's donating to charity or devoting your spare time to a side hustle.

These people will thrive and be tomorrow's millionaires, always be working towards something. You may stall at first but you must prevail. This is like writing, you may have no success but you have the passion. Success will be granted to you eventually.

Please do not ignore this, try your best to change, be grateful for the small things in life. Look through the eyes of someone else for a day. Your whole world will change after that. Small gestures will provide an extensive return. Have patience, the world works in mysterious ways. You never know what will happen so why are you scared.

Be kind and spread love.

happiness
2

About the Creator

Jonathon Larkins

This is me.16. My whole life in front of me. Just trying to find my way through it. Building a better future for myself and others

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.