Motivation logo

Is Optimism Hard-Wired? 6 Ways to See the Glass as Half Full

If you don't like something, change it up, and you can edit it, change the way you think about it."

By Arya SharmaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Is Optimism Hard-Wired? 6 Ways to See the Glass as Half Full
Photo by Anant Jain on Unsplash

I got a call from my best friend last night. Of course, it's not uncommon to have a challenge, and a best friend in the world. However, it is a challenge, strictly speaking, for me to feel good about myself and the way I look at life.

Kent has been my best friend since we were eleven years old at the time. We met at summer camp one year after the death of his father. In the first one, which is that we don't even have to like each other, even when we are close to each other, because it is a long, awkward nerd, and I'm a short, muscle-building athletes. Anyway, we became friends, and that relationship lasted for nearly forty years.

We, of Kent, was a hard life. After her father's death, her mother was forced to work, for example, in a local hotel. Even if it is a special honor, the profession, and he in us, to compel him to work, on holiday and on the weekends.

He's hanging out with his family, they would be able to say all the holidays. In fact, we jokingly said, " it is the fourth son of McKinney.""

When we were in our twenties, Kent percentage of the requirements, which was an often fatal virus.

He was alive, saying to him, more than once during this entire time: 'put your affairs in order." I'll never forget the way he called me on the phone, in tears as the doctor told him he only had three months left to live.

"Tim! I am a son of god. What am I going to do now? He is, one, I think I am."

I made a promise to be friends, to share with them what is needed to be Kent's embarrassing stories to his son. And quraşdıraraq support, and I cried my eyes out.

Kent didn't want to die, not this year or in the years that followed. This son grew up to join the army, and is now in active service.

We talked about it last night, and Kent said that he was on his way to meet with a family who had lost his son in the Iraq War. I said, " Oh, that must be so hard. Poor old man!" My friend simply said, "I'm left, he's got a lot of respect and appreciation for the sacrifices that these men are imported."

What is this? We, of Kent, had one son, who serves in the army! How can it be that a man should have lost his son. While I was thinking how difficult it would be to be to be to be about a man who has lost a child, a friend of mine in the statement that, thank god.

Then, he remembered me. Kent is always a do.

Even though Kent has lived her entire life in a cloud of death over his head, and he has become a man, is always a gift, the gift of your time, money, and energy, and for all those who are not sufficiently successful for him.

On the contrary, my husband and I always joke about to my pessimism. We joked that maybe we both walked into a room with a great ocean-the edge of the window. When she looked out her window, and she'd say, " Oh, my God!!! This is a lovely party." And I have to say, "This window is dirty. And * * * * * * in the corner?"

I don't want to look at the negative side of life only. I'm just wired to do so.

As a person, I decided I was going to, maybe, that I, of course, they have a tendency to pessimism? I brainstormed and came up with six different ways to see the glass as half-full.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.