Motivation logo

Is It Just Me Or Are Asians Bad With Compliments?

Do you feel uncomfortable when someone compliments you?

By Katharine ChanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Is It Just Me Or Are Asians Bad With Compliments?
Photo by Joseph Chan on Unsplash

How does it feel when you get complimented?

When someone tells me I'm doing a good job or that I look great, I get uncomfortable. My first instinct is to downplay, then deny and then think of a compliment about the other person, deflecting the attention off of me.

And then when I compliment, it's the most insincere thing. It comes across like I'm just saying something good about the other person for the sake of removing their focus on me.

When this happens, I can feel my Western and Eastern upbringings go at it, battling inside of me, trying to convince me to do the "right" thing.

What is the "right" thing to do?

It depends on your culture and what you value.

For me, deflecting and starting compliment battles are part of how I was raised. I remember my mom downplaying her efforts while everyone told her that she did a wonderful job raising her daughters. She really did an amazing job.

Growing up as an Asian Canadian (Specifically, Chinese), it's disrespectful to confidently accept a compliment without saying something nice about the person complimenting you.

You have to deny their comments as though you aren't as good as they say you are, that they are better and you don't deserve their kind words. And I struggle to embrace this part of my culture because it makes complimenting a disingenuous process.

Is the person saying something nice to me because they're fishing for compliments, wanting to start a compliment battle?

Or is the person being real with me, wanting me to know I am doing well?

In Western society, it can rub someone the wrong way if you reject their kind words; authenticity is absolutely valued. Compliment battles aren't socially acceptable. People just want you to accept their compliments, validate their words and feel good about sharing their positive thoughts.

And personally, this aligns more with how I think and feel despite being conditioned otherwise.

As women, we need to stop talking down about ourselves and other women and really be proud of who we are and what we've accomplished. Men can do that with ease, why can't women? We need to rise up and be empowered in our strengths, owning every awesome thing about who we are.

So here are my tips on how to give authentic compliments and how to receive them properly.

3 tips for how to give proper compliments:

1. Start with 'You' instead of 'I.'

It focuses the praise on them, rather than your opinion of them. There's a huge difference between "I think you're very funny." and "You have a wonderful sense of humour."

2. Compliment right away when you see something good.

If you see or hear something that you admire, say it right away. This way, you won't forget and also, it comes across as more genuine and authentic.

3. Don't give credit to someone or something else in the compliment.

Don't question the person's authenticity, skill, style, vibe, character, experience, personality, values, beliefs, or priorities. For instance, don't start with,

"Who taught you to speak so eloquently?"

It assumes that they're not responsible for whatever talent you're trying to praise them for. Instead, you can say

"You're an engaging speaker."

3 tips for how to properly receive compliments:

1. Provide a simple response that's easy to remember,

"Thank you. I appreciate your kind words."

2. Don't downplay or doubt yourself.

Don't question their intent. They're saying something nice because they want you to know.

3. Don't one-up their compliment.

Don't compliment battle. The other person is not trying to fish for compliments so it's not your responsibility to say something nice back to them. Don't expect them to keep the praise going.

So Readers, what are some of your tips when it comes to giving and receiving compliments?

advice
Like

About the Creator

Katharine Chan

Sum (心, ♡) on Sleeve | Author. Speaker. Wife. Mom of 2 | Embrace Culture. Love Yourself. Improve Relationships | Empowering you to talk about your feelings despite growing up in a culture that hid them | sumonsleeve.com/books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.