Motivation logo

Into the unknown

My coming from nothing...

By Christopher M FinkPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Into the unknown
Photo by Dan Counsell on Unsplash

It started one day when I sat down in front of the computer and began typing. I had no read goal or direction to speak of. If someone asked me back then, "what are you doing?", my reply would have been something along the lines of, "I don't know." Really, it was that simple.

For a while, it became a means to fill out some spare time, mostly to get the noise out of my head. But eventually, that noise began to coalesce into something of a coherent narrative, and before I knew it, I had completed my first short story. "No Fracking" was one of many I've written since then, and is the leading story in my first published anthology of horror. Combined with the aching need to see/read something original (as has been made clear, much of what we see and read is rehashes, and tired retelling of the same old story), I began to pen the stories I'd like to read/see.

Writing has always been a fascination of mine from my single digit years, but never did I think I would ever be able to tell my own stories. If nothing else, I was sure my lack of patience would be enough to do me in. But one story became two, then five, then ten, and so on! Once I could see and hold my work in my hands, even more thrilling, seeing other people reading it, and clamoring for more... It's become a feeling one can't describe. Needless to say, I am grateful for everyone who's supported me up until now, and I feel there's so much to come, as I've only begun to scratch the surface.

The ever popular question of, "where do you get your ideas?" is a time honored one asked by fans of all creators. I am still one of those fans, as well as one of those creators! It's been asked of me now and again, and to be honest, I really don't have a clear cut answer.

My hope here, is to maybe find an answer to that question, not only for myself, but for anyone who is looking to unlock that creative side to themselves, and hopefully have you come along on my journey. I am still learning how to market myself, and cultivate a name from nothing. For a guy who'd just as soon stay in the background, and happily sit quietly with his own thoughts, the ambition to write, publish, and present my work for all to see is a never-ending challenge for myself and my work.

A friend told me, it's something huge to put yourself out there creatively. I never realized what he meant until now. As far as I can tell, writing, at least for me, is putting a bit of yourself out into the world for everyone to see. It's something I never thought I would have to cope with, but here I am. Against all my instincts, I'm out there! And, that's become the point, to challenge myself, and progress... into the unknown!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Christopher M Fink

I have had a fascination with horror since I was 3, at least according to my aunt! Since then, I have honed my craft in screenwriting, and fiction, and am celebrating my first publication. The first of many nightmarish tales to come!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.