Motivation logo

Inside MySelf

Safe Room

By Monroe TaylorPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Inside myself

I am sitting here in this room for my protection. I ran in when the door opened. It is pitch black in here but I can hear people outside my door.

It is safe here and I came in willingly. I did not realize at the moment it could be permanent. But I am not sure if I should have cared.

What was important at the time was a safety. That we all run, run fool for your life. That was all that mattered to me at that time. Oh did I not mention. There are three of us here.

I sit the three of us in this dark safe room. Protected from all those around me. I was waiting for a bus when I thought I can not live another day here with all the attacks against us.

So I heard the door opening, I heard the creaking of the hinges. Saw the deep, deep stale darkness knowing if, when I entered this room we, I would become trapped. As I stood at the threshold of this room. I knew. I knew to enter was forever.

To stay outside of the room was no longer possible and there was no where else to find safety. Or so I hope is right. Could , we have stayed outside of the room?

I do not like to think I was wrong about my, our decision. I being in charge made this decision in all of our best interest. The others are weaker and events called for drastic measures.

The others may feel differently now but I have decided we will stay a bit longer in this room. To be frank I have always had the key to this room and the emergency it was created to combat; appeared.

Walking along the streets of my new city was suffocating and I felt like I was all alone but at the same time, not one moment of peace.

Surrounded by the constant stream of people I did not know or trusted. Who were these people always pulling at me always talking about me behind my back?

People I did not know and could not trust because they had one goal. My destruction. I would walk into a store and after I left the destroyer would walk in after me and pour honey-dipped lies into their ears.

My home has eyes for wallpaper. Windows for ears and lying tongues for carpet. Day in and day out, no escape until I found the room built for a time like this.

Life is short until you must spend your time in this room. I and others like me have created such places for ourselves and we have used them through time.

I am the strong one, not like the other two; weak and weaker is what I choose to call them. Easily lend into dangerous predicaments. Easily fooled and easily entertained.

I am in complete control and I do not intend to allow us to leave this room before I have decided it is safe to do so.

Well, of course I am not listening to the Doctors or any priests. Of course I know what is best for us. I am the mind of this body and the soul that inhabit it.

The body is weak and the soul strays repeatedly. The mind is strong and I know better than any Doctor or Preist when and how we shall come out of the safe room created by all my kind to keep my person safe and healthy.

healing
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.