Motivation logo

Infragilis Florals

https://www.etsy.com/shop/InfragilisFlorals

By Alexandra H GulcanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Floral Birdcage available on Etsy

I opened Infragilis Florals on Etsy out of my desperate need to create. If I am not creating, I am doing useless, unproductive, and unhealthy things, letting insecurity and sorrow rule my life in which it truly has no place. So, what was I to do when I couldn't finish school or work a traditional 9 to 5 due to my health? Craft, yes that is the answer. Instead of keeping my fairytale visions to myself in my mind, I began to implement my hands to bring them into reality. Only then have I found a way to balance myself and my life. Crafting negates negativity, and that is a fact.

I've always had a fairytale imagination which translates into my art and my craft. Waterfall greens, ethereal colors, unique florals allow me to create a piece of my inner world to share with others. I hope that when people see my art they escape everyday reality at least a little. Escapism is key to my craft as I escape into a world of positivity by creating and I hope I share that with my clients, as well. So, what does my fairytale look like you ask?

Well...

Centerpiece Available on Etsy

Table Piece available on Etsy

Earring Board available on Etsy

Wreath available on Etsy

Wreath can be custom ordered on Etsy

Wreath available on Etsy

Yes, it is basically a colorful wonderland in my brain, and it is a pleasure for me to translate this into the earthly realm. It isn't always easy though, firstly because starting a business is hard, secondly marketing the business is harder, and thirdly I permanently have scrapes and hot glue on my hands (go figure). Most of all, however, it is hard because even though you believe in yourself, the world does not automatically believe in you. You have to prove yourself before you can reap what you sow. Then, you continuously have to prove yourself after that to uphold the quality of your craft, and to be honest, that can be exhausting.

I don't stop, though, no matter how tired, because with scissors in hand, I believe I can make the world a more beautiful place one home or special occasion at a time. Instead of hiding in my head, I bring a little piece of wonderland to those who need it, and that makes me very happy.

How do my pieces come to be, you may ask? Well, it usually starts at Hobby Lobby, as all great dreams do. First, I have to find bases or vases for my floral creations. Sometimes I know what I want, and other times I'm rummaging through furniture, shelves, tin pitchers, and more until something strikes me as beautiful. Then, I ask myself this question, "How can I make it more beautiful?" I only deal in hyperrealistic florals to create my forever pieces. This costs me way more in the long run, but it is 110% worth it, as I take pride in the pieces I create.

That is where colors come in. I have always been good with colors as I was a college art student for many years. I have developed instinct on what goes together, even if it starts out by looking too different to flow. Then, I just let my creativity loose until I feel at peace with the project. When I finish a piece, I am always left with the pleasant feeling of accomplishment. It is a feeling I cherish as battling chronic illness can make my feel anything but.

All I can say is this. If you are doing something that gives you the inner feeling of peace that goes with accomplishment keep at it, don't stop, and never give up. I guess that is where I got the name, Infragilis, or unbreakable, Florals.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Alexandra H Gulcan

Just your average anime character writing about humanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.