Motivation logo

Imagine — by John Lennon

A song that many have still not fully understood

By s naickerPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Imagine — by John Lennon
Photo by Fedor on Unsplash

This song was released in 1971 and 53 years later, I honestly feel that the message of this song has not sunk into the heads of many people.

Sorry, if the above line is a bit harsh, however, it does frustrate me that as human beings, instead of using all our technological advancements and all other advancements as well as resources to be more united, we have become more divided than ever.

Please do not get me wrong, this article does not apply to everyone. However, it does apply to many of our world’s population. From the time I was a kid, I always thought of planet earth as a paradise. A paradise that human beings have constantly been working hard at destroying.

I think I can write a book on this subject. That is how much I have to say on this. However, I’m going to try my very best to summarize my thoughts in this article.

When I was a kid, I always questioned the way people in this world functioned. As an adult, I still question so much in this world of ours. Our lives on this planet is so very limited. I mean even if one lives to a 100 years, I still feel those years fly by so quickly.

The following is an extract from a website called songfact.com :

“Lennon was asking us to imagine a place where the things that divide us, like religion and possessions, did not exist. He felt that would be a much better place.

This song is a strong political message sugarcoated in a beautiful melody. Lennon realized the softer approach would bring the song to a wider audience, who hopefully would listen to his message: If you want peace, first you have to imagine it.”

As difficult as this dream of John Lennon may be, it can start from each and everyone of us. As we go through our days, its important to remember these words. Hopefully once more and more of us practice and live by these principles, slowly but surely we can see miracles happen.

Even if it is just small gestures of kindness, it will help towards creating a harmonious world that John Lennon refers to. It all starts from each and everyone of us. We owe it to ourselves and the ones we care about to make a change to this world.

I believe everything in life has a ripple effect. If we start making those changes, believe it or not, it can pick up in momentum and in a miraculous way bring more positive energy to our world.

We owe it to ourselves to try and practice everything we possibly can in order for us to see a better and improved world.

This world is within our reach. It is within our grasp. I feel it and I very strongly believe that it is. Question is, Do you believe? Do you think this is all possible?

Always remember it will first start with a belief, followed by action.

I smile as I sign off, mainly due to the fact as I write this article, the song “Imagine” starts playing from my youtube song list. If that is not a sign from the higher power that a more unified world is very possible then I do not know what is.

The video below summarizes the meaning of this legendary song. Until next time keep the love strong, move forward always trying to make a positive difference in this paradise of ours. It is all possible!

happinesshealing

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Sweileh 888about a month ago

    Thank you, I am glad to meet you

  • Sweileh 888about a month ago

    Interesting and delicious content, keep posting more now

SNWritten by s naicker

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.