Motivation logo

I’m a big fan of routines, and I think you should be too.

Even if you feel you’re no good at them, you should try!

By Alejandro BetancourtPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Photo by Alex Block on Unsplash

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” — Lao Tzu

I'm a big fan of routines. They help me stay on top of my tasks and be productive. What's more, they also provide your body with the opportunity to become energized and focused for the day. I've even noticed how much more motivated I am when I do things in order — it just helps keep my mind clear and focused.

When you're feeling low on motivation and energy, the last thing you want to do is anything productive or valuable with your day. That's why I'm such a big fan of routines — they give us that sense of control we need when we don't think we can handle our lives anymore. Rituals help us feel grounded and give us the energy we need to make progress every day! Routines provide us with a sense of predictability!

It's one of the things I've personally found to be so helpful. Sometimes you want something to save your life, and routines are precisely that! You know what they say about how first impressions count — well, it should come as no surprise that our mornings set up for us what kind of day we're going to have. If you wake up gently, in a good mood, and on time, then chances are you'll feel more positive and energized throughout your entire day because you are starting with the right foot.

First, get rid of the alarm!

I've never been a fan of awakening like the world is falling apart. It doesn't matter if your alarm is as gentle as it can be; maybe it's birds singing. I still find them intrusive. It's been decades since an alarm does not wake me up. Of course, this takes practice and training your body to do what many people believe it's impossible: to wake up on your own, on time. It takes some training, but it's worth the effort.

Once I wake up, this is not because I'm a morning person, but for that simple reason of "there's no better way," my mind feels ready to start working immediately — no need to drink coffee or do anything else. There are very few things more valuable than starting your day like this.

All of us have a biological clock that helps us calculate time. And although it can be distorted for different reasons — I wrote an article recently about that-. You can train it to be more precise. But first, you need to know how much is on point or not. Do some drills like timing your daily clean-up routine or packing a bag, or even going somewhere. Come up with how much time you think it will take you before doing it, and then do it and check how much time it took you. Do this repeatedly until you feel you have a good grasp of how much your biological clock differs from the one on your phone or wrist. Then, you'll be able to schedule your days better and feel more in control.

No matter how much we try to ignore it — the truth is that time goes by faster as we get older. Knowing this might make us want to squeeze every moment out of life possible, but unfortunately, there's nothing we can do about this. Routines help us save energy: Once you train yourself enough to time things correctly, all you have left is getting rid of items from your daily routine that don't make any sense anymore, like setting up an alarm in the morning.

Photo by KoolShooters from Pexels

The Benefits of Creating a Morning Routine

A morning routine is a set of consistent actions performed each day upon waking up. The goal of a morning routine is to take advantage of the increased willpower and mental clarity that come from being well-rested.

A morning routine can have many positive effects on your life if you stick to it. There are many benefits, including improving your mood, energizing your body, and setting goals for the day ahead. It can also help you feel more organized, which leads to a more productive workday or school day. If you think organized inside, you will be able to reflect that on the outside.

You might also find that having a morning routine helps you become more mindful of your decisions. You can use this mindfulness to help make better choices throughout the day. The choice between getting up early or staying in bed, for example, becomes easier when you are aware of how it affects your mood and productivity later on.

Maintain Your Routine Even When Life Gets Busy

A lot of us have busy lives with many responsibilities, so it's important not to let these commitments interfere with our routines too much if we want them to be effective at helping us maintain energy levels during the day. It is okay if things don't always go according to plan but try not to break your routine for several days consecutively because then it will take even longer to get back on track. A good principle I like to live by is expecting failure but getting back on the train immediately. For example; When you are on a diet and cheat over lunch, don't take that as an excuse to cheat on dinner. Same thing with your morning routine. If this morning, for whatever reason you diverged, tomorrow you are back on it.

Include Good Habits in your Morning Routine

Good habits are what can get you to your goals. If you can keep them up, it will be easier to live a happy and fulfilled life. To get the day started right, here are some morning rituals that have usually worked well:

According to research, exercising in the morning can help people feel less stress or anxiety throughout the day.

-Meditate- meditating in the morning can help people feel more relaxed and calm. Studies have also shown that meditation can improve cognitive function and relieve symptoms of depression and anxiety.

I like to meditate on each of my children every morning; imagine how I would like them to be that day. I also think of things they said or shared with me. I also meditate on one or two people dear to me; I think of them, their lives, struggles, etc. If I have time, I also like to meditate on projects I am working on.

Journaling is said to help people with mental health problems such as depression or anxiety because it is a way to express themselves safely.

- Making a to-do list for each day, organizing it by priority, and writing down deadlines so that you can be more productive than usual.

- Promoting mental health through meditation or other relaxation techniques such as yoga or physical exercise to remain focused.

-Listen to Inspiring Music or anything that helps you feel positive and relaxed.

-Eat a Healthy Breakfast.

Photo by KoolShooters from Pexels

My goal with my morning routine is to Feel Empowered and Happy to Face the Day.

One of the essential things in my morning routine is waking up at a set time. I do this the night before; of course, it can vary. But I put it before going to sleep. I try to get at least seven hours of sleep every night, but with two 5-year-olds, that rarely happens; I wake up without an alarm, as I said. This is glory for me. Not waking up scared and feeling the jolt of the alarm changed my morning experience forever.

I start my day by drinking a glass of water and taking some supplements. Then I start meditating for 5–10 minutes. Then when I shower and get dressed for the day, I give myself a little pep talk in the mirror about how I am feeling and how I want the day to be and plan out what I want to accomplish that day.

Productivity affects every aspect of our lives, but it's not always easy to find the motivation to keep up with it. Some people rely on getting into the proper "mindset" or setting goals for themselves. Others go as far as to use productivity apps or tools to help them stay on track. Most people prefer to do what they are most comfortable with, but many are looking to improve their routine.

Organizing your workspace or room is another step you can take to be more productive. It sounds simple, but it can have a significant effect on your psyche. A clean desk or room can make all the difference when you have a lot of tasks on your plate and need a specific document or just to have a feeling of being orderly. Sometimes just knowing where everything is can help you become more productive and help you think more clearly.

Routines are Not Just About Getting Things Done: How They Can Improve Your Health as Well. While routines help us get things done faster (and sometimes better), there is another benefit we usually neglect when looking at them — their effect on our bodies and minds! When we adopt routines into our lives, we feel more secure and sure about what we need to do. And that feeling is not just a psychological one!

It's time to take charge of your day and make it the best one yet. So pick a routine that works for you, get started with it today, and watch how much more motivated you are when everything is in order! The possibilities are endless — what kind of week do you want to have? I bet it's a positive and energized one! I'd love to hear from you! Please leave me some feedback in the comments. I appreciate your support and hope that this article was helpful for you! What are some of your favorite morning routines?

success
Like

About the Creator

Alejandro Betancourt

I am a single father, an entrepreneur & a businessman. I founded a couple of venture capital funds. I write about business, tech, finance & the human spirit.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.