Motivation logo

I jumped on board: An Interview with Myself, by Myself

Self-Interview Idea Originally by Rick Henry Christopher, but Then I Saw L.C. Schäfer Do It Too. Questions Slightly Modified to Be More Me.

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 4 min read
1
I jumped on board: An Interview with Myself, by Myself
Photo by Matt Botsford on Unsplash

Day 1/366 days of publishing articles in 2024.

I've never thought to interview myself. But then I read an article by L.C. Schäfer with the idea, and I thought it was interesting. When I read the article, it made me think of the song "Cream" by Prince. Prince wrote it while looking in the mirror at himself, and it's the ultimate self-empowerment song, which is something I do and teach daily to others. So, for me, the idea of interviewing myself felt like having a platform to shine and inspire others to take up space as well.

I've been interviewed many times. There are podcast recordings out there where I was a guest being interviewed, so I figured, why not jump on board with this idea? The cool thing about this process is that I get to create the questions. So perhaps in my answers, I can convey living more abstractly and unconventionally than most, and it will evoke in others a level of permission to do the same.

What type of creator do you feel like you are?

I think of myself as multi-dimensional, not linear. Not one genre. I'm an artist, a writer, incredible in the kitchen. I used to design cocktail menus for restaurants, design creative workouts and metaphors for life with my wellness clients. It has always been hard for me when mentors say, "Pick one thing." Nah, it will always be more complex than that because that's me. My mother said when I was little, I said this, "Mommy, there aren't enough years in someone's life to do everything they want to do." That sums it up.

What type of creator do you not want to be?

One that feels limited and boxed in. One thing I can't stand about Instagram is that it only lets you choose one title. Mine says "Artist" because I feel that's the best out of the options. But I feel like an artist in some moments, a writer in others, a dancer in others, a life coach in others, and so forth. I want to always be all-encompassing, not having to pick one thing because I'm not one thing.

What do you like about yourself as a creator?

My belief in being abstract. My belief in having the power to create my reality. I get pretty wild, obscure ideas about what's possible for myself, and I love that I can think really big.

What do you look for in creators?

Resonance is really it for me. And it's not something I look for; it's something I feel. My favorite creator's work, no matter what modality, does something to me inside vibrationally.

Where do you feel your opportunities are as a creator?

I'm still trying to figure that out. I feel like I'm throwing spaghetti at the wall right now, and I'll know when it's ready. Everything I do, I just treat like a fun, adventurous experiment. That way, there's no pressure.

What do you not like about yourself as a creator?

What comes up for me is when I'm painting and I say I'm going to use soft colors, it never happens. I'm always bright and bold. Lol. It just always happens. One day, I'd like to produce a soft piece just to say I can.

Which modality of creativity would you say is your best?

Music-inspired abstract art. I love getting on the canvas with no plan. I have a series I did a while back called "4 Colors and a Playlist." Sometimes, I'll do it as "4 Colors and a Song on Repeat" if I'm really vibing with the song. And I just jump in. The freedom in that creative spontaneity is where I believe I shine. Also writing pieces from experiences I’ve had and humor. Free-form dance too. And cooking without following a recipe.

In which modality do you feel most challenged?

Super structured pieces. I'm not a fan of structure. It makes me feel restricted and boxed in. Although I do love creating mandalas, but in those, there is structure and freedom at the same time. I don't like realism. It bores me. I also don’t like writing assignments much. Anything structure. I like to break rules.

When did you first start creating?

I started figure skating when I was 3, and that's a very creative sport. I started painting at 13 years old, and I started writing in elementary school. I had a poem called "The Active Imagination" that won an award when I was in 6th grade.

Why do you create?

Because if I didn't, I'd feel like someone cut my air off. It's why I'm here.

This last question is off-topic. If you could be part of any television sitcom family, which one would it be and why?

That's a really tough question for me to answer because I don't really watch TV, and so I don't know a lot of shows. But I think I would've loved to hang out with the women in "Sex and the City" back in the '90s, the earlier part of the show before they started having children.

One last question just for the hell of it… When do you get your best ideas?

Typically when I'm flying, especially when I'm flying home from a night of dancing in another city. I have this theory that ideas come through the best when I'm up in the air because I'm closer to the cosmos. They also come through when I'm driving and listening to music, when I'm in the shower or taking a bath, and when I'm doing cardio exercise blaring music in my headphones. Music is always part of the process.

If you found this piece interesting, please consider leaving a 💜 or even a tip. Your support means a lot to me as a writer! You can also read more of my work here. My goal is to publish one a day during 2024!

interview
1

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    I love that creativity comes through strongly when traveling. I have thoughts about that 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.