Motivation logo

I Create Me

The creation process

By Vicki GoodmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I would not say that I am a passionate person, at least not in a visible way. I am not competitive, or argumentative, I do not like to debate with others. My passion comes from inside, an emotional, mental, and spiritual drive to create things, and to understand why others have that same desire.

I inherited a love of keeping my hands busy from a mother and grandmother who both loved to create. In my search for my own niche, I have tried many mediums of art and crafting, sketching, oil and acrylic painting, loom weaving; I even made my own loom to make long blankets, polymer clay, pyrography, leatherworking, writing, photography. I soon came to realize that it was not the medium itself that I loved, it was the process of learning it, understanding it, and seeing it all come to life, the actual creation process was my passion.

People often ask me how I can do this, or comment on my ability or "talent" to be able to do so many different things. My response is usually the same. I have always loved to create, learning to use the tools required has been the challenge as with any new art medium. No matter what it is, if you love doing something, put in the effort to do it right. Give yourself time, lots of practice, and patience to learn the process. It is a rare thing when someone can just "do" something without taking the time to learn, of course, there are those where it takes less time than it does for others.

Creativity comes in many forms, and it is not just art.

I have a friend who is a Life Coach collaborating with young mothers. She “creates” wonderful peaceful messages, she also “creates” a safe place for them to be in.

My sister bought an old thrift store and redesigned it, creating a wonderfully curious environment for people to shop in, she constantly rearranges it and uses her creativity to enhance this fun store.

Another friend of mine makes primitive pottery replicas. She gathers the clay by hand from the desert, processes it, creates the piece, and fires it in a deep pit in her yard. She is passionate about the entire creative process and loves to teach others.

One person does metal work and leatherwork. He has mentors that have taught him, and he constantly refines his skills. He talks about the refining fires of the smithy work, and how interesting it is to watch the hot metal shape under his hands.

I have a unique circle of friends who also are creative, and it is more than just making something, they have a passion for what they do. I love asking them about it and watching their face light up as they describe the process, how it makes them feel before, during, and after it's completed. I have watched them teach their skills, sharing their passion and igniting it with others. Passion drives us, it opens our eyes to possibilities and pushes away uncertainties and doubts. It opens doors that we thought were closed.

I have begun collecting the stories of these people and others, with the idea of feeding my own passion of asking the question, “Why do we create?”. This will be part of my own story called “I Create Me”. I believe that in the creation process we ourselves are often re-created. We change and evolve, we add layers to who we once were and become something new, grander, and more beautiful. I want to share my story as well as the stories of others in a way that lets the world know their love and passion for what they do.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.