Motivation logo

I am Thankful for the Little Things

2020 made everyone stop and think.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

2020 has been a difficult year. If there is anything that I am thankful for this year it is family and the little things in life. Life is not always about having the opportunity to go on big adventures, having a dream job, or getting into your top school. Sometimes the best memories are getting together with your family on the porch and sharing a laugh.

While I am unhappy about what has transpired in 2020, this year feels like a year of growth. We’re all human. The virus has taken so much from us all. It ruined opportunities for some. However, we have found ways around the virus to keep going about with the normal activities - with more caution that is. We still have to keep on living.

I have always been thankful for my family. However, this year has made me appreciate them all the more. On some days, my family and I gathered together on the back porch of our house. They were only small gatherings for holidays or celebrating a birthday. I would never give up these memories for anything. The conversations and memories that transpired continue to make me smile if I am ever having a bad day.

One of the best memories of the summer is when I went on a little trip with my parents to Cape Cod. Despite some restrictions when it comes to traveling, I had the best time. Getting away for a bit cleared my mind. Being together with my family was a great opportunity to remind myself that while this year has not been great, at least we are not alone.

Kindness has not stopped. There was one day this year where I noticed two acts of kindness. On one of the hottest days, a woman gave the mailman a water bottle to help them keep hydrated. And on that same day, a man offered to help a woman bring her beach chair to her car. Nobody is ever fighting battles alone. Someone is always here to give you a helping hand.

I have never been more thankful for entertainment until now. Movies and theatre bring people together. I am so thankful for movies because it’s an amazing way to get lost in a story and take a break from reality. I am thankful for the creation of movies and the profound messages that come out of them.

I am grateful for a lot of things. My job. Friends. Family. Exercising. I was put to the ultimate test this year. And also a challenge. I challenged myself to run outside more, something that I would only do on a treadmill at a gym. It turns out that I enjoy running outside better than being trapped running inside. Try new things. You never know what you like until experience it.

2020 made everyone stop and think. The world is not a perfect place. Although it’s been difficult, 2020 made us sit down and open up about issues that have been lingering under our feet for too long. We’re still working on recuperating these problems, but it’s a start. I am thankful that we all coming together, talking, and have agreed to listen to how we can make the world better.

Be thankful for the little things in life. I am never going to forget this year. I am thankful for 2020 for helping me grow, appreciate the little things all the more, and for kindness. We can’t change history. I think that it is important for everyone to talk about their experiences in 2020 because we all went through something. Be thankful.

happiness
3

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.