Motivation logo

I Am My Own Inspiration

by Patrice Edwards

By Patrice EdwardsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I Am My Inspiration

For many years I was asked who inspired me and why. I always found that question to be challenging because no one person inspired me. I believe that my inspiration comes from my young self. I am inspired when I look at my past and how far I came. A fews years back I was a lost black girl who did not know herself. I was conflicted within after losing my father. I felt like I no longer had a home or did not belong. I spent years trying to fit in with my peers and my surroundings but I simply did not fit in. I became an outcast.

Even though I felt like there was no one like me I knew that I had to motivate myself so that I can be elevated to a better situation. I wanted to be more than another statistic. I wanted to be the first in my family to go to college and be successful in America. I was determined and knew that I had to help myself.

With my thirst for success it drove me to college where I was able to travel all over the world, where I learned about myself and grew mentally. College was not like any place I have been. I felt safe there. I felt as if I found a tiny family where I could possibly belong. However that was not the case for me when I traveled to China. In China I felt like an exotic animal. I was always being touched and people were always taking pictures of me. They made it known that I did not belong. I became aware of the cruelty around me and wanted to create change that I felt was needed. I wanted to show my fellow black brother and sisters that we should feel free to travel where we want and still feel like we belong. I wanted to inspire others with my story. This led me to travel to South Korea and Germany where I no longer asked permission to fit in. I established my existence and showed that I am a part of this society despite the rules placed upon us.

So after traveling to all those places I created a blog to share my story and inspire others to share their stories too. Then after seeing the success of the blog I decided that I wanted to take my idea further and develop a company. That is when Not Blended LLC was created. It was created to provide a platform to individuals to promote diversity and show you do not have to blend to belong. Even though COVID has impacted us our black families were still being killed during this tough time so during this time Not Blended participated in Marches and hosted their own unity event where we had artists show their talents and have a meal together. We did not just stop there we also partnered with a local college to talk about diversity and be there for students who constantly feel as if their blackness is too much. We want those students to know that black is beautiful. Black is filled with strength and determination. We want students to see that they should not allow society to remove them from the conversation. Throughout my travels one thing I learn is the conversation will happen with or without you and you must make your presence known, you must make your voice heard and that is the change I am fighting for.

So when I look back at my accomplishments I am inspired. I am inspired that at my age I did something great and it makes me want to do more. It makes me want to help more people. It made me create a Movement Not Blended.

success
1

About the Creator

Patrice Edwards

My name is Patrice Edwards I am 23 years old. I am the Founder of an eco friendly clothing company called Not Blended which means you do not have to blend to belong. We strive to promote diversity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.