Motivation logo

How to Think.

Goals, Mindset and Progress.

By Nathan BrittonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
How to Think.
Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

I am often asked in the first few weeks of January "what are your goals for this year?". Setting goals is important, undoubtedly. However there is more to it than that. Much more. A goal without a plan is but a dream.

If one thousand people set the same goal and only ten of those people achieve the goal, what is the focus? I'll tell you, everyone focuses on the ten people right? Oh they had goals they wanted it and worked hard towards the goal. Well what about the 990 people that didn't? Did they not want it as much? Did they not work hard?

The difference is the process between thinking of and setting the goal and achieving it. Depending on the goal in question this could be a relatively short period of time or a long time. But what matters is how you use this time. Let's think of it as a vote, every decision you make is a vote, either for your goal or against it. Does that make sense?

Example time. Let's say I wanted to lose 5 kilograms before Christmas. Great I think, I have pretty much all year, very doable. But is it? Most would say yes, however you don't know my lifestyle, my mentality or my circumstances. Now back to the voting system I mentioned earlier. I wake up and decide I want McDonald's for breakfast. Vote against my goal right? Now let's say I decide to go for a run in the afternoon, one vote for my goal.

The good thing about this system is like any vote, you don't need to win unanimously. We are human, there will always be votes for either side, steps in the wrong direction, setbacks happen. What does matter is the volume of votes. If you only make two healthy decisions in a week and ten bad ones your goal of losing 5kg is going to get harder and harder to achieve.

With this system you need to look at your approach and the path to your goal. Another example, I want to make a Youtube video. Okay great, but is that really what I want? Or do I want a successful Youtube channel? This may look different to everyone but the details don't matter right now. It all stems from how you view yourself.

Instead of I want to make a Youtube video, say things like, I want to be a Youtuber. This is an ongoing goal. Setting a one off as a goal is great but once you achieve it, its over. So you make your first video, good, but you want to be a Youtuber. However you need to change your mindset. You need to change the way you view yourself. If you make videos on Youtube you are in fact, a Youtuber. You need to reaffirm this to yourself.

Playing guitar once doesn't make you a musician, but playing once a week does. Going to the gym once doesn't make you and athlete, but going three times a week does. Reading one book doesn't make you a reader, but reading one a month does. See a pattern?

Habits. Good or bad we have them. Habits can be hard to change and harder to create. As I mentioned above, doing something once doesn't change who you are or shift your habits. Modern day society makes us chase instant gratification, I've written and article why am I not a writer? I saved a few dollars why am I not rich? I went to the gym where are my abs?

This mindset is hard to break. The best way to break this thought pattern is with small changes. Be aware of your goals when you are making decisions. If you are trying to save for a house deposit, do you need to buy new Nike's? If your trying to lose weight, should you order a burger?

Small wins equal big results. It's that simple. Everyday you will make several choices that ultimately serve as votes either for your goal or against it. Choose wisely. Once you get into this way of thinking you can almost forget about your goals and concentrate on the process. This will bring you happiness that you simply will no see if you set and chase one off goals. One time satisfaction will never feel as good as building an enjoyable process that changes your life day in day out.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.