Motivation logo

How To Stay Sane When Everything Around You Screams Insane

It´s almost a crime these days, trying to stay positive.

By Zara MillerPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Credit: Elijah O´Donnell

Feeling overwhelmed? Run-down? Low on energy? Besides obvious reasons, the lifestyle choices we make every day add to our growing pains, and negatively affect our mental health. I'm sure you've heard it before – if your head isn't in the right place, nothing else works the way it should.

But shouldn't I take care of my body first? Isn't it enough if I eat healthily and exercise regularly?

Well, not exactly. Avocado sandwiches and a jog at five in the morning present only half the victory. There is an entire (tiresome) scientific research behind it, but the gist of it is taught in middle schools – the gist that we often forget to take with us into adulthood – our brain is the running engine of our body. Not only the engine, the battery, the automotive cooler, and the starter all conjoined into one wonderfully complicated, delicate grey matter.

Our mental health and the nervous system are directly correlated. When a physical injury to the head occurs, it is natural for a doctor to do a CAT scan to ensure the brain is working correctly.

But when a mental trauma occurs, which could also leave a devastating mark on the vital parts of our brain, an entire tirade around therapies and medication cascades down like an avalanche of crazy (pun intended).

Unfortunately, the global (yes, global, this is not an "America issue" situation) stigma around mental health is still alive and kicking. Some prejudiced people automatically associate being in psychological treatment with being crazy.

But because I am nowhere near qualified to shout out "to do steps" when you need a psychological help, I am only going to say: Please, go get a professional opinion on your health if you struggle. Speaking from experience, there are people who can and will improve your life significantly – there is no greater strength or reward than humbling yourself to ask for help.

But, because you clicked on this to get a sense of how to take care of yourself better, I will give you three easy steps on the path to improvement that I have been using for some time now. They have polished and added to my resume of healthy choices, and kept me sane throughout the global pandemic. The best thing about it? You don't need money or special equipment to keep up.

1. Call a Loved One Every Day

This ranges from relatives to friends to your pets. Be honest, how many times a day you postpone calling someone you love, because you're busy with work, watering your plants, cleaning the apartment, or somehow being occupied? If those pastimes above help keep you sane, even better. Still, there is a certain amount of accountability that only those who love us can hold us to. Instead of turning the conversations into "Misery loves company", you could create a new narrative: "Misery dissipates with company“. My person has always been my mother. I call her first thing in the morning, because mornings dictate my day, and there is no one in my life more positive and open-minded than her. Her optimism and good spirits lift me up, her humor fills my veins with endorphins, and voila, successful day guaranteed. If you feel more comfortable airing out your inner thoughts to your diary or to your pet while cuddling, by all means, do that. But let's all make sure that we have a healthy outlet for our feelings before turning inward and right against us.

2. Do Something Out of “Just Because” Every Day

I'm not sure you have it the same way, but before I decided to stop caring about what other people thought, there was a lot of explaining on my part why I do what I do. And I don't mean just professionally-wise. There used to be a "why" for breakfast, lunch, and dinner meals for me every day. Why I go for walks, why I read ancient detective stories, why I cook instead of dining outside. There ought to be an in-between step in this second tip, which is also incredibly helpful to your mental health, which is to stop caring what other people think. Easier said than done, sure, but it as an acquired skill, I can confirm. Over the years, I've learned that unless those specific people put a roof over my head, or otherwise positively contribute to my well-being and happiness, I really don't give a schnitzel about their personal opinions (which they are entitled to, of course, I have mine, too).

Whether you feel like dancing in the shower, blasting Justin Bieber, eating spicy fajitas, or starting up a chat about your washing machine with a neighbor, do it just because. Not because you feel obligated, not because it will benefit you or someone else. Do it just because you feel like doing it. The best thing about it? It makes you look forward to living each day because you never know what you might feel like doing, and the sheer surprise of it makes your eyes pop in excitement each morning. Sometimes, I do yoga. Sometimes I study the subway system of New York City. Sometimes I create online accounts to troll people (in an endearing way – debating about movies and books - no cyberbullying, please!). Sometimes, I sit on the bench in front of my building and take mental notes of all the outfits I would or wouldn't wear (and then tell my mom in the morning about it, ad tip one). It barely takes a couple of minutes a day to do this, but the effects on your mood afterward are priceless.

3. Coffee Cures Depression: More Espresso, Less Depresso

I wish I could take credit for this enlightened quote, but unfortunately, I cannot. I saw it online (probably during one of those times of my endearing trolling of the Harry Potter characters on the Tumblr) and have no idea where or who said it. But it stuck in my mind, and it changed my life, so, thank you, internet, for this infinite wisdom. Essentially, until I have my morning cup of coffee, don't talk to me or even look at me, because I will probably bite and claw. And I'm not talking about the fancy Starbucks drinks with 8 ounces of ice and half an ounce of coffee in it (that I also enjoy but in the afternoon hours more like it). If you're not a coffee person, you're okay, because caffeine is found in various teas. Not to get too serious, but the human body (and mind, which we're all about in this article) functions more appropriately with a healthy dose of caffeine. Caffeine is a central nervous system stimulant. If you drink it without milk or any other sweeteners, it improves your cognitive skills, your focus mode, and even perks up a cranky mood. The reason for that is the methylxanthine alkaloid that is related to the adenine and guanine bases in our DNA structure. We should keep in mind that it is technically considered a legal drug, so everything in moderation is advised. Otherwise, you'll be running the streets high and disheveled like that squirrel from Ice Age, trying to find a nut only to accidentally pierce it through the Earth's core, effing up the entire planet and yourself in the process.

What are some of your favorite things to do to keep yourself sane?

self help
Like

About the Creator

Zara Miller

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.