Motivation logo

How To Not Let Life Get You Down

When Things Get Rough

By Kennadie WarrenPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

We've all had our fair share of ups and downs. There are days when everything goes just the way you want it to, and on others, it seems as though the world has turned everything against you. And if I asked you which one of those relates to your everyday, what would you say? If the first part pertains to you more, then you most likely don't need to hear what I have to say, but if it's the second part and life is definitely not giving you lemons, then please stay tuned for what I have to say.

Now I'm no expert on life experience, I mean I barely leave my home anymore, but that doesn't mean I have never experienced things that no person should ever deserve to go through. I'll save you the sob stories though, because this isn't about me, it's about you. The person who is reading this and wondering where I am going with all of this, don't worry, I'll get there eventually. What I want you to do for now however is ask yourself a few things...

Firstly, what I want you to ask yourself is, what is making your everyday suck? Is it one thing or two things? Something big or something small? I want you to focus on the problem, find the root of it, and think about it for a moment. Is it something that you can fix easily? Something temporary, like a flat tire, a scraped knee, a broken phone, these are examples of things that are easily replaceable or can heal over time, but that doesn't mean you can't get frustrated by these things or want to stomp the ground and clench your fist at the sky in anger. You are allowed to do these things. You are human; we all need to feel that way, or what's the point of having any feelings at all? But just try not to dwell on the little stuff for too long, it will drive you crazy, and you will just look for excuses to have a bad day. Trust me, it's better not to think about them too much.

But if you have gone though something major, as in losing somebody very important to you, or you feel completely alone, or the worst of them all, and I am sorry for whoever has suffered this way, but someone who has had unforgivable things done to them by someone else, no one deserves that, not a single person. If you have suffered this way, I will apologize in advance if I say something that upsets you, I am not intending to in any way.

What I recommend, only from experiences I've heard, is try to find a way to cope, and I don't definitely don't mean just move on. If someone had hurt you traumatically in any way, whether it was mentally, physically, or even emotionally, you have every reason to not feel completely comfortable about anything or to not be completely happy. I don't expect you to. But please I ask that you try alternative ways to feel better, like group therapy, counseling, or getting a support animal, something, anything that will make your life just a little brighter, and that little thing hopefully will sprout into something so bright it's blinding. That's all I hope for you to fight for every day and make every living breath you have worth it, because every breath you take another reason for more people to keep breathing.

But if you have suffered a loss and or feel completely alone, I recommend some of the same therapies as I just mentioned, but there are also so many you can do, even just personal therapies. Like taking on a hobby or pursuing something you love. These things are very calming and will help relax you, but there is also going out and meeting new people, trying new things, taking risks. These things might help you feel better and might help relax your mind a little bit and help you open up more. But depending on how open you are as an individual, you are not pressured to do anything you aren't comfortable with, I just recommend giving new things a shot.

When push comes to shove, I know I'm not an expert on comforting people who have gone through so much, especially people I don't know and the traumas I have never experienced, but I'm here to do my best to help.

Life can be pretty unfair, I know; almost everything nowadays is a prime example of that. With kids trying to make it through school, adults struggling with jobs, and making enough money for either themselves or even a family, the world smothered with hate and neglect, it almost seems unlivable now.

Well that's what I used to think anyways; it took me a while to get out of my own head, and I constantly only saw the hate and sadness in the world, I never really looked for a brighter look on life. But now I'm slowly getting better. I don't find myself to be an expert on self-healing in any way, shape, or form, but I'm starting to know how it feels and honestly I want everyone who's ever gone through a rough time to feel this way, because seeing somebody smile after not seeing a smile for months or maybe even years is one of the most beautiful things in the world, and I couldn't ask for anything better than that.

And thank you for reading this, whoever has. I don't normally write about these things or on websites or apps, so really, thank you...

healing
Like

About the Creator

Kennadie Warren

Hello my name is Kennadie, I am deeply in love with writing and I'm currently working on my first novel, but keep up to date with my writing on here for fresh/new content and of course have a very wonderful day

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.