Motivation logo

How to be happy in every situation

Happy

By Sabin PaulPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
How to be happy in every situation
Photo by Hybrid on Unsplash

“Happiness doesn't mean everything is perfect. It means you have decided to look beyond the mistakes. ”~ Unknown

Although I didn't care about oil-based raincoats, I listened to him talk for about fifteen minutes in the morning one rain last week.

This little boy, with his colorful shirt with a button and a funny-looking hat made my day very early. He works at 7-11 where I get my coffee. And she always looks happy.

At first I thought he was just putting on a good face, doing his best in a difficult situation. After all, he wouldn’t enjoy working in a good store, would he?

Then I realized I was missing out on a big part of her complaint: she enjoys her job, and that’s why she seems so happy — because she is.

Man, that's fine. I intend to be like him.

My life does not always look the way I want it to. I spend many days writing alone in my living room when I prefer to work in an office area that I share with friends. I drive an old beaten Toyota when I prefer to get away from something that has no folding windows or a cassette player.

But the world doesn’t change all that when I have more money, a different space, a better job, or a better car. The wrapping paper is different, but the gift inside is not always the same.

The way I feel about myself, how open I am to young people and the experience, how often I choose to smile just because it sounds fun - none of these things depend on the state of my health. A colored shirt knows that. I suspect you know these things, too:

1. Enjoying the present moment is a practice that makes a habit.

If you look forward to the future with happiness, chances are you will do the same when you discover what you have been dreaming of. As strange as it may sound, the ability to appreciate what lies ahead has nothing to do with what you have. It is more than just measuring the good things in your life at any given time.

Get used to what you have and it will sound even more fun when you finally get what you want. Look around - what is in front of you that you can enjoy?

2. Finding reasons to be happy now can benefit your future.

Dr. Dacher Keltner of the University of California says he can predict a person's future by judging the power of his smile. Investigators examined images in the yearbook of 111 female students taken between 1958 and 1960.

Subsequent experiments revealed that women who expressed positive emotions in those images were more focused, had more successful marriages, and enjoyed greater prosperity.

From the article:

"Although positive emotions tend to increase mood, negative emotions tend to slow down and slow down progress. personal and community. ”

3. Happiness can improve your health, which gives you more opportunities in life.

Something that most people take for granted.

Christopher Peterson, a Ph.D. University of Michigan, who has studied the connection of good health expectations for more than two decades, shows that optimists have stronger immune systems than their bad counterparts. This may be due to their tendency to take better care of themselves.

Choose to be happy now and you will have many good days to enjoy.

4. Consistent, long-term happiness depends on your ability to recognize and appreciate information; you can sharpen that ability right now.

Once you have everything you want, you will still face high and low life. If you have not learned to enjoy the little things, your well-being will be commensurate with the conditions in your life. Every time something goes wrong, you will feel deeply unhappy (unlike disappointment, but determined to do the best you can.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.