Motivation logo

How the Power of Positive Thinking Helps

Review of "The Power of Positive Thinking"

By Theresa RileyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
How the Power of Positive Thinking Helps
Photo by Ian Stauffer on Unsplash

This is my review and my own opinion reading “The Power of Positive Thinking” by Norman Vincent Peale. This is not sponsored.

By Viktor Forgacs on Unsplash

After 2020 and now being more than halfway done with 2021 so much has happened. Good, bad, ugly, beautiful and crazy. This book is a helpful tool if you are looking for methods to change your mindset or need help with thinking. It has 17 chapters. I will be sharing some key points that I found helpful. “The Power of Positive Thinking” has a strong prayer and faith-based references.

The secret is to. . .

“The secret is to fill your mind with thoughts of faith, confidence, and security (P.16).” So, for me, and may be for many people, it is easy to go down a negative thinking route and to spiral. It takes effort to find the positive in everyone and everything but it is doable. One habit I used to do when I was younger was to read Bible passages in the morning and if I remember, before I go to sleep. I have recently picked this habit up again. I like to read it in the morning before I begin my day because, it helps set the tone and I have a sense of peace. I have prayed for answers for various decisions I did not have the answer to and would get an answer.

Now, I don’t believe you have to be religious to pray. You can meditate. You can believe in something higher than yourself or believe in the universe. Or believe in the energy from nature and things around you. Whatever your beliefs may be, take a moment and breathe. Breathe through your troubles, long days, drama, or negativity. I would even suggest doing the same thing through good times and to be grateful.

New thoughts can change you

“Fill your mind with fresh, new creative thoughts of faith, love, and goodness” (P. 220). I noticed over the past two weeks, my thoughts have been more positive. This has allowed me to be more creative in my business ventures and I am excited, happy, and fulfilled. The efforts helped my creative endeavors. It has also had a positive push with my relationships. My husband and I always communicate but it is nice to hear him say he likes to see me be happy. I get to be my normal goofy self with my two daughters be more connected to them.

I will admit, being happy, sunny, sparkly most of the time is not easy. I do believe if you have a bad day or moment to embrace it and do what you can to move on. It gets dangerous when you embrace the negativity and keep dwelling on it. Then go on a downward spiral. Looking for every little thing that irritates, annoys, frustrates, or angers you. A method I have found that has helped me keep a positive mind frame is to watch, listen, read things that bring me joy. I love anime. (I actually watched a Chinese anime recently, I guess it is not anime, but a Donghua. I’m still debating if I want to give Boruto a chance. . . sorry I digress) I also love Korean romance/drama (Finished “My secret Romance”). Watching the crazy car shows my husband loves also makes me laugh. I started taking martial arts alongside my daughter, but still enjoy dance classes. Key point is to find and do things that make you happy.

Conclusion

I enjoyed this book. It should not have taken over a year to read, but I’m glad I read it. It has made me refocus on a foundation that helps build the inertia and momentum towards my own success. On a scale of 1 to 10 (1 being low, 10 being high), I would give this book an 8 as a recommendation to someone. The reason it is not a 10 is because everyone does not believe in prayers or verses from the Bible. So it is not for everyone, but for those that are open to the Bible passages, it would be a great read.

By Jacqueline Munguía on Unsplash

book review

About the Creator

Theresa Riley

I am a wife, mother of 2, lifetime student (2 master's degrees), entreprenuer, & a random creative writer. I have a wide variety of interests, ranging from anime, and food. Thank you for the support!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Theresa RileyWritten by Theresa Riley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.