Families logo

My own version of Mom Life

Crazy with a bit of ambition

By Theresa RileyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My own version of Mom Life
Photo by Olga Tutunaru on Unsplash

The kids screaming as they play and run around the house, laundry and dishes piling up, the dogs looking at me, wondering when I will pay attention to them, lunch needs to be made, and I won’t even get started on all the various “projects” I have started and have not finished yet. These projects range from reorganizing all the closets and old clothes to my business products that need to be shipped out. Before I became a mother, I was organized, the entire house immaculately clean, and I was extremely ambitious but did not accomplish much. Now, as a wife and a mother of two, I feel as though I live in an organized chaotic universe and I accomplish more now than I did before when I only had to take care of me.

My passion is my own version of Mom Life. I am growing my business, writing more stories and books, all the while raising my daughters with my husband and maintaining the daily tasks in our home. I want to demonstrate to my girls that being ambitious, dreaming big, and putting in the hard work will allow various opportunities, you get a high sense of accomplishment, and you can do and get what you want out of life. I am passionate about my version of Mom Life because it is unique to me:

Finances and Time

I am working towards goals and milestones within my business to attack the student loan debt that I acquired for my bachelor’s degree and two master’s degrees. I have gotten to the point in my life where my husband and kids have made me realize that I am worth more than the 9-5 jobs were paying me. The amount of time and money I was receiving from a job was taking me away from spending time with my daughters and what I want to do which is create products and stories.

Family

My family is everything to me. I love them more than the universe and every decision I make, I take in consideration on how it will affect them and our lives as a family unit. I look for ways to be more efficient with the household chores, and I even have researched ways to meal prep and make “snack packs” for the entire family. The 2020 quarantine pandemic taught me a lot about cherishing, loving, and taking care of my family and our health.

Accomplishment Satisfaction

I have always been the type to accomplish a goal, be happy for 2.5 seconds and then move on to the next goal. I oddly feel satisfied when the house is clean, I organized a closet, I have gotten rid of old items we no longer use, and when I can even get the kids to help! Having multiple victories has helped me lift my mood and keep me happy which in turn makes me strive to be a better wife and mother.

ToastEcandy

ToastEcandy is my business where it is my creative outlet to design clothes, home décor, books, party favors, and so much more. I am just starting but it brings me joy when I’m creating things and I get to show my family and friends that anything is possible. It allows me to inspire others that even someone like me can create something, so if you have an idea or a project that you have been sitting on, why not take the action to get it done? I know there are people out there that can do a better job than me, but they do not take the action. So, if they can see the crazy job I did, maybe that can inspire some action!

Conclusion

In the end, my Mom Life is my passion because I can help others feel inspired to act on their dreams and goals. I can be entertaining and make them laugh even at my craziness. I am goofy but ambitious and I will keep pushing forward to get the most done out of this life!

Please feel free to send a tip so that I can continue writing more! It will be greatly appreciated and thank you for your time and support!

parents
1

About the Creator

Theresa Riley

I am a wife, mother of 2, lifetime student (2 master's degrees), entreprenuer, & a random creative writer. I have a wide variety of interests, ranging from anime, and food. Thank you for the support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.