Motivation logo

How I Became a Solopreneur

It all starts with a side hustle

By Jocelyn Joy ThomasPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Are you tired of working for someone else? Are you creative, disciplined, and able to wear multiple hats? If you answered yes to these questions you may have what it takes to become a solopreneur.

I became a solopreneur by accident. I have a degree in legal studies, but when I graduated, I couldn’t find any jobs that would hire someone without experience. I had been doing intuitive readings for friends for free for over a decade by that time. I decided to make a website and offer readings, to see where that led me. Eventually, this side hustle grew into a full-time job. It took time, effort, a great deal of learning, and most of all persistence.

What is a solopreneur?

We get the word solopreneur from entrepreneur, the only difference is the solo part. A solopreneur does everything on their own, no employees, no boss, no one else but you and your laptop.

You must be the creative department, as well as accounting, marketing, customer service, and more.

Solopreneur vs. Entrepreneur

What's the difference? An entrepreneur typically has employees, runs a company, and is looking to build the business as much as possible. Many are looking to build and scale their company, to sell it for a profit later on. Others are focused on their business expanding.

A solopreneur, being only one person, has the goal to replace the income from a job and ideally go beyond that point. There is growth in the business but it is different than the growth that a larger company with staff usually reaches.

How to become a solopreneur

It all starts with a side hustle, something small that you devote an hour or two each day. Find something you love to do and are passionate about. Create a style for yourself within that area that sets you apart from others. For example, I love to write, so when I decided to work as a reader, I did all written readings in the beginning, as well as eBooks and articles.

What you decide to do doesn’t have to look like it does for everyone else. For a long time, I thought being a writer meant either being a journalist or a fiction writer with a publisher contract. When I created my own business I didn’t expect I would write so much. I soon learned that success as a writer comes in many different forms.

Some examples of solopreneurs to get you thinking

Web Designer, Content Creator, Freelance Writer, Blog Writer, Photographer, Artist, Graphic Designer, Craft Maker, Podcaster, Youtuber, Intuitive Reader, Teacher, or Life Coach.

There are a lot more! Go to a place like fiverr.com and browse the different gigs, this may spark some ideas of what you can do.

How to define your worth

One of the most difficult aspects for solopreneurs is how to price. You have to be careful not to go too high at first when you don’t have much experience. It takes time to build clients/customers so make sure you look to what your competitors are offering and go slightly lower at the start.

The other pitfall is to keep prices too low once you have experience and clients. I really struggled with raising prices and waited too long. I learned through severe burnout that you must charge for your time, and make it at a level that honestly reflects your level of expertise.

Listen to your clients, for years many clients told me they couldn’t believe how low my prices were. I did start out with brutally low prices. I raised prices just two times over six years. Finally, only recently, catching up to a rate that I felt fit my level of experience.

Don’t make it as hard on yourself as I did, charge what your skill level, experience, and knowledge are worth.

Marketing is the name of the game

If you don’t market even the most amazing products and services can’t be seen and therefore, won't sell. You must yourself out there and do so consistently.

In the beginning, it felt a little uncomfortable selling my services, almost like I was pulling from all of the commercials I had heard my whole life. I didn’t want to sound fake, but advertising language does have to be used. Over time, I let all of that go, and you will too. You are in business, and businesses have to sell their products and services, period.

Steps to get you started as a solopreneur

Start a side hustle, pick something you are passionate about

Research what other people are offering in that field and what they are charging.

Set up a website or join a marketplace

Set up social media accounts for your business, pick one to be your main target

Start a newsletter, you can announce when you offer new services/products, sales, or write articles/blogs.

Market every day of the week, except your days off.

Be patient, let go, and trust

Building a business takes time. Everyone fears the worst in the early days when no one is buying. Over time this will change, there will be traffic and sales. Let your potential audience know who you are, what you offer, and why they should go to you instead of someone else. Once you have done this, let go and trust. Never stop trying, but don't overwork either.

As long as you hold a clear vision for yourself, show up and do the work, you can build your own business. Start with a side hustle, and watch it grow. You can do it!

how to
1

About the Creator

Jocelyn Joy Thomas

Writer, spiritual teacher, and travel enthusiast. Enjoying the journey! Join my mailing list and receive a free guide on How to Meet Your Guides in Three Steps!

https://joysnewsletter.weebly.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.