Motivation logo

How Dora Rodriguez Transitioned From International Fashion Model to CEO.

We sat down with cover model and CEO of KW Publicists, Dora Rodriguez, for an engaging and motivating conversation.

By KW Publicists Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Cover model, journalist and CEO of KW Publicists @kwpublicists, Dora Rodriguez @dorarodriguez.es

After years of traveling the world for photoshoots for some of the world's most famous magazines, model Dora Rodriguez said she had had her fair share of interactions with many PR industry professionals. She herself is a communications professional, having graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Journalism and PR a few years ago, but had chosen to focus on her modeling career while it was prime time to do so. "It wasn't until I had a bad experience with a PR representative that I realized I could liaison myself with fashion magazines and many different publications, after having built my own network and understanding both sides of the industry, since I'm also a model, I will always have a model's best interest at heart," explained Rodriguez. This bad experience and newfound motivation in the middle of a pandemic, made her realize she wanted to go back to basics and establish herself in the communications field in which she had spent four years studying in university.

"I consider myself a people-person. I have to be. In the modeling industry you are constantly landing in new cities and having to talk to new people, and must quickly figure out who they are as a person, in order to connect and create magic for the public to enjoy. We are entertainers. This skillset, in addition to the communications skills achieved through my journalism degree, made me realize that not only do I enjoy PR, I am good at it. It's important to love that you do. When you love what you do, going to work doesn't feel like work. The fact that travel was going to be slowed-down due to the current global situation made me realize I could still make a competitive salary from my computer, and my cellphone, no matter where I was, as long as I had a good wifi connection. This is when KW Publicists came into fruition," said Rodriguez.

Model and CEO Dora Rodriguez on the August 2020 cover of Harper's Bazaar Vietnam.

When asked if the launch of this PR company meant her retirement from modeling was next, Rodriguez explained that she will continue to model as long as she gets booked for top work, but that her focus is now acting, and that she has already finished the filming of a TV show, that is expected to be aired next year, and is eager to build this new start-up, one day at a time. "It is difficult to predict the future considering the uncertain times we are currently living however, I know myself, and I know my level of drive and motivation, and I read about economic trends every morning so, if anything, now is the time to be innovative and expand. I believe if I put my time in with my many ventures now, it will pay-off tenfold in the future. Successful people understand that multiple streams of income is the only way to build wealth. This can seem scary, but I never shy away from a challenge," said Rodriguez.

To contact KW Publicists please visit kwpublicists.com or follow the firm's instagram page @kwpublicists. To connect with Rodriguez directly for PR, journalism, modeling, acting or to book an appearance, please visit dorarodriguez.es or follow her instagram page @dorarodriguez.es

success
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.