Motivation logo

How Do I Want To Be Remembered?

Hard Truths We Need To Tell Ourselves

By Johnny NezhaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I really believe we do not ask ourselves enough insightful questions. We are so caught up in the here and now whilst running, rushing, pushing, pulling, laughing, crying and we never pause.

Have you ever paused? Have you ever just stopped in the middle of the road and asked yourself - What Am I Doing? Where am I headed toward? What is going on in my life? I am working so hard to pay bills and grind/hustle to achieve my ambitions, but… How do I wanna be remembered?

No - for real folks! How do you want to be remembered? Who is (First Name) (Middle Name) (Last Name) and what will be the memory and legacy of them once they’ve departed?

I am not here to be morbid making you all ponder death and the afterlife, I am just simply encouraging you to make it worth your while. The rat race is a bad habit we have been instilling on each other.

Every day I find humanity, as of right now, to be disappointing. I mean, look at us. We are stuck purporting and making up claims that ‘we are doing just fine’ when we are not.

Our lives have become subsidiary to life’s exigencies and we are clueless on how to get out of it. I - for one, am still paying hefty prices for the mistakes of YOLO life I lived for the past 4 years when I enterprised my journey-venture to come live in the US and I had no family in this country, or roots or anything, although I lived my life ‘just like that’ until adulting caught up with me, and my former support system did not have my back any longer. Not because they are mean and have backhanded evil intentions, but because I am 26, and I got married. It’s time I start making something of myself. Today. Right now.

I am the culprit of my own conflagration. All this happened under my tenure. Nobody made mistakes for me, and nobody forced me to do anything. I am so dumb. I admit it. And I’ve lost track of what my goals and dreams were. I lost track of the real reason I decided to come into the US alone.

I lost track of the vision of how I wanted to be remembered.

What really baffles and bewildered me, however, is that I am not alone in the crapshow. Quite the contrary! I am in very good company. Everyone around me is winging it, and we are highly misled. We have no directory and we have no purpose.

What are we born for? Why are we here? How can we capitalize off of our latent and inherent talents? Why is the world so loud? Why are people so frustrated? Why is everyone so mean? Am I in hell? What is this world?

I’d take delight (for us) in analyzing this life as something extrinsic and detached from ourselves. I realize that I am as much a player as anyone else, and so are you…

I do hear and see your voices and your faces on TikTok. I understand the frustration. I feel the pain and the trauma we are all trying to heal from. And bravo to us. Bravo for speaking a dialogue that those before us pretended was not there, and never addressed it. Bravo to us for having the audacity, bravery and courage to admit our vulnerabilities as humans and for calling out the toxic world we live in. I am happy to be us. We cannot, nevertheless, help society without having helped ourselves first.

Please, I beg you, find your life mission and have a vision for yourself on how you want to be remembered…

Once past that, may your heart, mind and soul find solace, peace, and bliss, because the pursuit of happiness - it appears to be very, but very elusive.

goals
1

About the Creator

Johnny Nezha

ENTJ-A. Founder & CEO At Khleon. I question everything. I’m driven by intense purpose; aiming for the pinnacle in the pursuit of self-actualization. I analyze for a living. Dismantling illusions since 1994.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.