Motivation logo

How Changing My Perspective Changed My Entire Life

Your Not-So-Typical Life Changing Blog Post

By Rahi ShahPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Justin Lynch on Unsplash

"Will I remember this day 10 years from now?" This is a question I often ask myself, thinking what have I done today that will help me remember this day 10 years from now. Whenever I ask anyone in my family about their teenage years, all they remember is what type of person they were back then. They don't necessarily remember the individual moments, or the times they felt the happiest. Does that mean that they haven't done anything worth remembering? I guess that's the answer I'll never know. All I know, however, is that I don't want to end up in the same place as them.

I know that it sounds completely impractical to remember every single day of your life. You can't have new adventures every day, but moments worth remembering aren't necessarily always the good ones. You will also remember the times when you felt lost, or when you were in a completely depressed, hopeless state. But, does that mean that you've to let those bad times take over you? No. Instead of remembering all the terrible things that you've been through, try to remember what those experiences have taught you. Try to remember the lessons that you've learnt from your mistakes. Remember the times you failed, what you learnt, and how you improved that led you to success. If you've read my previous blog posts, you'll know that I've always given perspective a huge importance. Everything that happens in your life, yes, everything, depends on your perspective and what you CHOOSE to get out of it. It becomes positive or negative depending on your outlook. If you only focus on the negatives, that's what you'll get out of that experience, and if you focus on the brighter side, you'll be thankful for the lessons it taught you.

Changing my perspective towards the experiences has honestly changed my life. What I saw as a failure yesterday is a lesson today. I didn't get in a college program that I wanted to get into, but I didn't let that put me down. I learnt from it, understood what I did wrong, and now I make sure that I never make the same mistake again. Sure, it's hard at first. You can't just make it happen. I cried, complained, and cursed a lot over my rejection letter, but I moved on. I expressed my pain to my family, and with their and my friends' support, I was able to overcome the hard times.

I think the number one thing you need to succeed is the determination to. As long as you're willing to make something happen, you'll work towards making that happen. Force your mind to extract the positive out of every situation. It's the brain's tendency to focus on the negatives, but it's in your hands to change it. It's in your hand to take complete control over your mind. Again, I know that this doesn't just happen. You need a lot of practice and a willingness to change. Force your mind to think more on the positive side of things and situations. Practice meditation every single day. Try to look deeper into your soul and let the thoughts freely flow in your head. Try to seek what your mind focuses towards. Afterwards, when you have all the thoughts laid out, focus on what appeals to you the most. Think about the things that make you truly happy, and I promise, you'll see your life change in front of your eyes.

Now, like I said, you can't have high adrenaline adventure every day, but there are still moments that happen every day that you'll remember for the rest of your lives. For me, I want to remember all the crazy moments spent with friends and family, all the late night study sessions with friends, sneaking into the kitchen at 2 in the morning looking for food, and the amazing moments spent staring at the night skies and talking about our beautiful future.

Never stop daydreaming; you never know how bright your future might be. Keep hustling.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Rahi Shah

Sharing my experiences as I go through this journey they call life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.