Motivation logo

How Bullet Journaling Helped Me

My New Sense of Accomplishment

By Lauren S.Published 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

A few weeks ago, I started bullet journaling. I first stumbled across the idea in one of my Facebook groups. It really intrigued me, but I didn't have the inclination to start journaling. After a rough patch, I decided to give it a try. I looked at various pictures of examples of bullet journals online and I decided to try a modified version. A true bullet journal can be very detailed and I didn't think I could commit to that on a daily basis. I saw some pictures of really cool ones with stencils and lots of colors. People also wrote goals for each month and inspirational quotes for each day. I also saw ones that looked like a day planner with special events written down.

I first started by writing down a list of weekly chores I wanted to accomplish. They sell special bullet journals. I use a regular one for now. I also added a short list of things I want to accomplish on a daily basis and a list of self-care tools. For example, exercising daily, taking vitamins, and getting enough rest. I also purchased some fine line colored pens that I started using recently. Each night, I sit down with my journal for about ten minutes. I check off any of the weekly chores I did that day and make sure that I accomplished my daily goals and self-care goals. Then, I use a colored pen to write the following day's date on the next page. I use a different colored pen to write down a short list of things I want to accomplish the following day. I write down any places that I need to go to that day, too. The key is to make sure the list is short. One day, I wrote too many items and I felt overwhelmed and frustrated that I didn't accomplish everything on my list that day. I also use a third colored pen to write a section titled "gratitude." I list three things each day that I am grateful for. It can be as simple as hot coffee. Lastly, I use a different colored pen to write a final heading titled "mood." Each day, I jot a few words down expressing my mood for that day. I find that taking a few minutes each night to update my journal entry for that day and plan for the following day really helps me.

I definitely feel more accomplished and motivated to achieve my goals since I started bullet journaling. I even feel a bit competitive to make sure the items on my to-do list are done each day. I also feel more grateful since I started writing what I am grateful for each day. It made me realize that I don't take small things for granted anymore. By tracking my mood daily, I noticed some patterns, which have been helpful. I read online that a lot of people that suffer from depression and other mental illnesses use bullet journals to help motivate themselves. They also find that tracking their mood is useful.

I highly recommend bullet journaling for anyone. It is such a useful tool. There is a ton of information online about it. An individual can do a true bullet journal or a modified version like I am doing. Even if you never wrote in a journal ever, you will be able to do a bullet journal. Regardless if you start a true bullet journal or a modified one like me, you will notice a difference in your life.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Lauren S.

Former teacher, newspaper stringer, tutor, wife and mom.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.