Motivation logo

Hot Tea (yes)

Cold Days (no)

By Shirley BelkPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
11
The artist has her favorites, but mine are below:

My Personal Comfort List for the Winter Season-things to do-would include the following:

~Waking up later instead of sooner (When you are retired, you get this option. In fact, I believe you have earned it. Now, if I could just convince the fur population in my household of this!)

~A large mug of hot tea, sweetened, of course (And the pleasure of drinking it uninterrupted. That would start my day and my mood off just right!)

~Staying in my warm flannel pajamas and fuzzy house shoes (maybe all day???)

~Not having to go into town for any must haves (or finding out that I already have everything that I must have. This would mean I could stay in my pajamas and have another cup of hot tea...yay for me!)

~My dogs obeying the call of my whistling for them to come in from their potty break on the first command (instead of me annoying my few surrounding neighbors by my racket or by the furballs causing chaos by chasing their chickens or horses or goats...yes, I live in the country...but surprisingly, it's still in the city limits...a very small town.)

~Sunshine (Pretty simple wish. I don't mind rain or ice for very long, or even gusty winds. I left snow out because where I live, it's only a once in a blue moon occurrence. Just none of the aforementioned weather for multiple days on end, please! After all, I was born on the first day of summer, so isn't that reasonable?)

~Having a creative fire in my belly and no other necessary agendas to attend to that might interfere with that flow and rhythm of my writing or researching. (I know I have a cheering section from this platform on that subject.)

~Being able to read stories and poems and comments from the people I subscribe to...who are now my friends on Vocal. You all make me smile you know!

~Cooking a meal that I know my family will enjoy. (Cooking for them is one of my love languages. It is also therapeutic for me. I like to chop vegetables and season to taste.)

~Having my bills paid ahead of time (so I don't fret about it or get interrupted by necessity.)

~Completing at least 2/3 of any chore list I have made for myself. (I like the feeling of accomplishment.)

~Checking out my Facebook page and keeping up with my old friends and students and cousins. My grandkids use snap chat, so that, too. (And I am old enough to still have friends that correspond with me through e-mail.)

~Getting a letter in the mail! (I have one grandson that actually writes to me, and I so love his letters!)

~Daily phone calls/messages from assorted family members...most of the time.

~Binge watching on Netflix (Yes, I admit it. Maybe the reason I like sleeping late???)

~Cuddling with my cats. My dogs are too rowdy.

~Long, hot showers. (For any season, though, really.)

~Sitting out in the patio area and collecting sunshine while watching my dogs play in the yard. Or walking about on my properties with them.

~Reading my devotional books and praying. (Saved this for last, but do this while having my hot tea in the mornings...)

~~I know, I'm kinda boring, but don't forget...I'm kinda old, too! Just doing my thing and enjoying life on my terms. I always have, though so not much has actually changed. :)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So, this was done for my FB Vocal group's seasonal challenge:

Storm In A Teapot: Publish a story (personal or fiction) featuring a steaming cup of tea on a winter morning.

self helpVocalsocial mediahappiness
11

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    Ooh I did this challenge too! 😁 I did a micro about a badass gran. I don't think the things you've listed sound boring at all, they sound very comforting to me!

  • Loved your list and I would die for an actual handwritten letter kudos to your grandson

  • Denise E Lindquist3 months ago

    I relate well to all your things! I'm kinda old too!😊💖

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Doesnt sound boring AT ALL

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    You have my vote for all of these. How many pets do you have?

  • Staringale3 months ago

    This is a relaxing post, it made me want to curl up in the bed surrounded by fluffy pillows and warm blankets. Reading that you still get handwritten letters I am touched by the connection you have with your grandchild. Such connection and bond are a gift to be cherished.

  • You're not boring at all! Also, I thought you were gonna say, "having my bills paid by someone else" 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    A wonderful list! Stay in bed all day in warm flannels- nice!

  • Ahhh!!! You make me smile too Shirley!!! This was a fun and enjoyable read!!!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    That sounds divine, Shirley. Relaxed and like you're just enjoying your best life. I love the fact that your grandson sends you handwritten letters. I would love that so much!

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    I loved learning all this! You sound amazing! Great work and well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.