Motivation logo

Hidden Figures- A Movie Review

Girls are capable of doing everything men are capable of doing. Sometimes they have more imagination than men. -Katherine Johnson

By Andriika Jordan ClarkPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo from Google

My mind raced with a million thoughts as my heart exploded with immense feelings of inspiration, love, and determination. I was in complete and utter awe after watching the critically acclaimed movie "Hidden Figures." Never before had I seen such a vulnerable, life-changing, emotional, and encouraging movie.

The story and life about these three extraordinary women hit me like thunder and lightning. The pain, joy, embarrassment, pride, and love that they embodied was remarkable. I immediately felt honored and determined to make a difference in my own life and the lives of my students.

Ever since I was a young girl, I have always been fascinated with Space, Science, and Math. I still am. When I am not teaching online, I teach STEM and coding at local schools in my community. I love it! The joy and curiosity that young children have when they discover how to build a page or how to make a robot work completely moves me. This is why I went into teaching. To move others- especially young children. Teaching just like any other profession is a calling. Katherine Johnson once said,"Our teachers made such a difference - all of my teachers and professors were very supportive and nurturing." This is how it should be.

Today, young girls and women have the world at their fingertips. They are being encouraged now more than ever to become who they want to be. Whether that is a scientist, teacher, artist, doctor, entrepreneur, or dentist. Girls and women today have many opportunities to chose from. However, this was not always the case. Back in the 1960s, women barely had a say so in school, yet alone their careers. Katherine Johnson, Mary Jackson, and Dorothy Vaughan went years without being fully recognized for their contributions to the Space Program at NASA. Not only were they women, but they were women of color. Despite this, the trio carried on and made a dent in NASA's history.

"I don't have a feeling of inferiority. Never had. I'm as good as anybody, but no better. -Katherine Johnson"

Hidden Figures depicts the true events of what happened during their time working at NASA. It shows the silent battles of sexism and racism that Johnson, Jackson, and Vaughan endured and conquered. They were known as literal mind machines or geniuses in their own right. Because of them, many women- especially women of color are even more inspired to pursue careers in STEM and Space. There has been a drastic increase of women in these fields in the last thirty years. It goes to show that women can do anything men can do. We are truly equals. Hidden Figures showed the world just that.

This movie has left a mark on how I teach, work, and live my life. It has inspired me to do more with my teaching and to never stop. Whether I am teaching science, math, English, or history. Teaching is about lighting the fire in another soul. Showing students that learning is truly an art. It is a joy! I love it when they find something that they truly believe in, stand for, and want to know. Hidden Figures was a great inspiration of what can be achieved when you never stop despite all obstacles. It taught me to hold my head held high and to keep going.

Sadly, Katherine Johnson passed away on February 24, 2020. I never got to meet her or thank her for her contributions. Even though I would have loved to, I will always remember her legacy, the hard-work, grit, and her dedication to her craft. Most importantly, what she, Vaughan, and Jackson, did at NASA, and what they left behind for the next generation of women they so lovingly inspired.



movie review
1

About the Creator

Andriika Jordan Clark

Bibliophile. Lover of dogs, pizza, and long walks. Multipotentalite. Believer in Justice, Unity, and Love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.