Motivation logo

Hello I'm Trisha

and I am new here...

By Trisha DunbarPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Photograph of the author Trisha Dunbar

Hey there, I'm Trisha...

A rambling writer of words; descended from mudlarkers, Romani-Gypsies, West Indians, and maritime folk. A fan of pushing myself out of my comfort zone with 30 and #100daysof challenges!

***

My Journey so far…

I sucked at learning at school, diagnosed with mild dyslexia and Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) during my teens. However, unbeknown to me what held me back at school would go on to be my greatest asset as an adult! More on that latter, but…

The thing is even when I did do well at school because of the label of my dyslexia some teachers would accuse me of cheating! These teachers made me redo my work under close supervision — this was often during break times!

The teachers soon realized that the progress was coming directly from me. I went from being at the bottom of the class needing a little extra support to the top of the class supporting others!

***

So, how did I go from struggling learner to making real progress almost overnight?

I started to take a more mindful approach to my learning. This included introducing simple mindful practices to my daily study routine and developing positive thinking strategies. This improved my focus and attention span. As a result, I became a more disciplined learner that achieved set goals.

Now I want to help inspire others to become more focused, motivated, self-disciplined, and successful at achieving their personal goals.

Today, I have an academic background in psychology and leadership, and a 2,1 diploma in history from the University of Oxford. The dyslexia and ADHD that held me back at school actually made me a highly innovative, creative, and strategic thinker, extremely persistent, focused with high energy, drive, and self-discipline.

I discovered my chains were an undated schooling system that focused on the ability to remember random things that you don't actually need in the real world!

My mission now is to empower others to learn new skills and transform themselves! Whilst sharing my own lived experiences and goals to inspire others to take action.

***

#100Daysof… Challenges

“A ship in harbour is safe, but that is not what ships are built for.”

— John A. Shedd

True change comes when you push yourself out of your comfort zone. I am a big fan of #100Daysof challenges. You will be surprised what you can achieve when you truly focus on something consistently. My last #100daysofcode challenge saw me going from knowing no Python to building and programming a robot to dance!

Previous 100 Day Challenges: Spanish, Mandarin Chinese, Dutch, and programming languages — Python (brushing up on my HTML, CSS, and JavaScript skills too).

***

Books

Despite my mild dyslexia I always wanted to be a writer. I had my first piece published in the anthology, Perfect: Young Women Talk of Body Image, edited by Helen Hines when I was just 17 years old. I then went on to be a ghost-writer and write press releases for national and international media, including the Guardian.

***

What do I write about?

Mainly I love to write about personal growth & life lessons. Although I cover a plethora of other topics too. I frequently write about language learning, diversity, inclusion, leadership, mental wellbeing, productivity, gaming, and technology.

My top 3 Vocal Stories (so far!)

1. Confessions of a Serial Book Sniffer

2. What a Homeless Gentleman Taught Me About Life

3. Don't Be Fooled There is a Darker Side to Mindfulness That Isn't Spoken About!

***

Follow me @DunbarTrisha (Twitter)

© Trisha Dunbar

happiness

About the Creator

Trisha Dunbar

Rambling of written words | Reader of things | Drinker of coffee | Doer of stuff | Welcome to my profile 😊

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Trisha DunbarWritten by Trisha Dunbar

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.