Motivation logo

Happy Thanksgiving

Reflections on this last year

By Michael KeckPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

This year has been a year like no other for me. I experienced a lot of trials after getting back into a salaried manager position at the beginning of the year. Then the Covid-19 virus hit and impacted everything. I did my best at making the best of things during this time and stayed positive for my team. Then as the year progressed a couple of months ago all Assistant Managers in the company I work for were notified that the changes in role that have been circulating for a couple of years now were now to be put in place and were all put in a pool to be selected for the new and fewer positions. Unfortunately, I was not selected for the new position. Then I was sent to a different and more challenging store to work at. This last month has been challenging for me.

Today is Thanksgiving Day. It is a day to reflect on what you are grateful for and give thanks. I have been off the last few days. I do go back to work tonight. I have been reflecting on a lot of aspects of my life lately. Been thinking about some of the decisions I have made that were not the best this last year. I have also thought about the good decisions I have made. The good outweighs the negative.

I am thankful to still be employed, to have family and friends that want the best for me, and to know that no matter what I have my faith which tells me everything will work out in the end.

Although, I am not where I want to be in my life right now. I know I will get there. I just have to keep fighting for what is right, and sharing a message of positivity with everyone. My goals and vision for my life are within reach. I have learned through my latest disappointment in my career that as one door shuts another one opens up. I deserve better than that promotion that I wanted. I say that cause I would not be thinking about focusing more on my consulting business I started a couple of years ago, but never had the motivation to really start pursuing it until now. Plus, seeing the ad to join this site to do another thing I love to do which is write.

I’ve met some great people this year whether it be from the trials that I faced this year and the successes I have had. I learned something from all of them. There is one person I owe a lot to who showed me another way of doing things. He is a good friend of mine and have known him for six years and was a boss of mine most recently before I got sent to another store to work at. He owns his own Karate business and works for the company I work at. He is a very successful person and want to be just like him. He has shared his wisdom with me during the darkest of times for me from when I was under investigation for something I did not do to not getting the promotion I spoke of recently.

Some of my mentor’s words and his lessons are found in stories he told me. Here is one. “A frog and a scorpion were standing by a stream wanting to cross it. The scorpion wanted to ride on the frogs back, but the frog told the scorpion. “No, you will sting me and we will both drown.” The scorpion assured the frog that he won’t sting him crossing the stream. The frog reluctantly agrees to let the scorpion ride on his back. But sure enough halfway across the stream the waters got rough causing the scorpion to sting the frog. As they were both drowning the frog asks the scorpion, “why did you do that, now we are drowning.” Scorpion replied, “I could not help it, it’s just my nature.”

I will never forget that story my mentor told me. I think it has a couple of different meanings to it. But every story is always open to interpretation.

Bottom line, I am thankful for all the lessons learned so far this year and all the better things ahead.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Michael Keck

I've been a manager for over 6 years and worked in different industries from big box retail to self-storage to automotive. I have learned a lot during my time. We are in this life together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.