Motivation logo

Happy Feet

One of the greatest gift to man is mobility.

By Julia AlfredPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

I would love to start this ramble off with a little science lesson.

Endorphins, also referred to as natural pain relievers, are neurochemicals produced in your central nervous system and pituitary gland that when released can take you as Drake would say “0 to 100 real quick”. How do we get these bad boys released you may wonder?

Since their core responsibility is to reduce pain and increase pleasure, they can be released through activities such as eating, drinking, physical activity and sex. It also plays a major role during childbirth and help us to continue functioning despite injuries or stress.

Humans have evolved but the nomadic gene that resides within our DNA should be the indicator to us that we are meant to move, like water. Be water is what Bruce Lee advised us to be. Have you ever seen or experienced stagnant water? It stinks. From my personal experience the benefits of physical activity, be it casually walking my dog or a rigorous workout, goes a long way.

So lets dance.

I grew up in Guyana surrounded by a rich West Indian culture and if it’s one thing that West Indians love to do is dance. They drink a lot too but they dance just as much. The music most popular among West Indians is Soca and Dancehall, I lean heavily towards Soca. Soca is a beautiful blend of happy sounds that in no possible way can ever create a melodramatic rhythm. I personally cannot resist dancing, I will move if the beat calls me and Soca is irresistible. Many people will refer to it as island music as typically the majority of Soca artists are from Caribbean islands. Below are a few of my favorite tunes that get me dancing wherever my feet are planted. From the bathroom to the dance floor, these take me from 0 to 100 real quick. I believe dancing to be the essence of life and something we all can do whether we're good or bad at it. If you really want to perfect it, try Youtube.

When in doubt - run!

Another physical activity that I find myself drawn to like a moth to a flame is running, not even asthma could cut this out of my life. With the right playlist and comfortable sneakers, I can run for hours if permitted. During the summer, I try to make group runs possible by rounding up a troop to do 5k and 10k runs. It’s a task to begin with but an accomplishment upon crossing the finish line. My favorite run would be the 5k Foam Fest hosted each year here in Canada because it is always a guaranteed good time. If you have the time, check out https://the5kfoamfest.com/ to see when they will be hosting near you. You have the option to create groups and come decked out in team wear, it’s kid friendly so bring your goat. Just kidding. It would make a great family event and to top if off they always have great swag at the end of each run in addition to medals. Check out my medals below.

Eat. Sleep. Burpees. Repeat

I do love to workout but I also find it’s one of the hardest tasks to remain committed to. However, I found a few amazing people and pages on Instagram that get you in the mood to get your feet and body moving. Below is Instagram user Angoswede, her workouts are all home based and she teaches utilization of everything within the home that can help you on your fitness journey while saving you a few extra dollars. Of course, for excellent results you will be required to have a healthy meal plan which I’m sure she can assist with since she is a coach but check her out for all your home workout needs.

We all need it

Motivation, the Instagram page below is perfect for just that. Their posts are super motivational and they even have mini challenges that you can partake in for free to get on the track of a healthy lifestyle. I love that, with their client’s approval of course, they post progress updates with pictures to show the journeys being undertaken and I absolutely love that the client’s words and experiences are what are quoted beneath each progress post. You get to read about the hardships and the positivity that stems from undertaking the journey to better health. Their website is www.fitgirls.com if you don’t have Instagram but are interested in learning more about this community.

Another great way I get moving is to whip out every cleaning product and tool. I’ll be on ladders and my knees, scrubbing, brushing and wiping everything I see and again, with a great playlist to back me up I literally become a machine. In addition to getting mundane tasks completed, I get my blood pumping, my feet moving and the atmosphere in my house lightens up.

You can never go wrong with good upbeat music, so put some on today and either lace up those sneakers, whip out the broom and mop or get to dancing because feet were no meant to stay in one place.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Julia Alfred

I am a born Dreamer leading an unbelievable life.Encountered people who match the villainous and heroic personas we read about in stories & done things I would surely do better.

A penny for my thoughts is worth it.

Visit Cathartic Whispers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.