Motivation logo

Good Deeds

The Elderly

By Peggy WhitakerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4

Good Deed

You every wonder what the world will look like when you become and elderly person? Think about it for a moment. The natural things we do every day to exist and navigate around the world become difficult to do. Things like seeing things clearly, walking, getting to any destination independently. Waking up and dressing yourself become exhausting. Being unable to physically to go to the store and get groceries, clean up your own home and the list could go on. My good deed is something I do everyday and it is the what makes me excited about life. That is taking care of people who find themselves unable to do the necessary things to survive. I work elderly patients daily. I often say to myself and it has been said to me if you want to know how a person feels put yourself in their position. I do that daily when I think of how we age.

When I first became aware of the Covid-19 virus, I didn’t have any understanding on how much it would take over the world. I was in complete shock hearing news from every newspaper, and all types of media invading our daily lives, to remind us of the precautions we must use in order to protect ourselves from the virus. Wear masks, stay six feet apart, wash your hands, and stay away from anyone who is sick. When I go to work every day, I can help my patients but there are elderly people around my neighborhood that needed some help. I wonder about how they were handling the pandemic. I went around my neighborhood to speak to them and to ask what they find was the most difficult thing to get done since this virus has taken over. There are seven of them who live alone. Tom, Maggie, Dotty, Ray, Ann, Addie and Grace were all over the age of seventy. Their biggest problem is getting groceries. Tom had to be near his oxygen tank. Maggie, she uses a walker and Dotty, Ray, Ann, Dottie are all afraid to go out. I decided then that I would try to help my elderly neighbors. I had a van so I told them I would take them out once a week to go to the store and they can shop for their food. I went in with them so happy to help but I notice something. Most of what they were buying was can goods. Things like sardines, tuna, crackers, bread, can soup, things they did not have to cook. I realize they may have some difficulty cooking meals. I realize now that my good deed was to cook them a hot meal. I have grown kids and I told them I want to help my neighbors to eat better meals. Each week my daughters and I cook a big meal and put them in plastic containers. We gave each one two containers so that they could warm it up and eat. These contain enough for two meals. I realize that I needed to find a way to continue this. I contacted meals on wheels and I found out there was none around my area. I decided to talk with the nearest church and they agreed to help me to reach other elderly people around the area to get hot meals weakly. They would leave it at their front door, knock and insure they pick them up and take it inside. The elderly need help and we should think about them in this pandemic they could be suffering the most during this time.

healing
4

About the Creator

Peggy Whitaker

If you change your mind, you change your destiny. I'm Peggy Whitaker and I write mostly about romance. I recently wrote two books. One titled "Straddling Fences, and Straight Women/Gay World. My children are twins rappers TFT.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.