Motivation logo

Goals for 2024

Being realistic

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
7
Goals for 2024
Photo by Nathana Rebouças on Unsplash

I am wishing myself. and my writing journey "A happy new year."

This year I sat down and wrote a list of yearly goals. And actually Vocal did appear in my list of Goals for this coming year. Although I did not really think of it as a resolution. It was just what I was hoping for, for myself. My expectations for myself. I tried to make them more realistic then in previous years.

1. The first goal was to submit two stories a week to Vocal. Last year I started submitting more than just challenge entry stories. I would like to continue doing this. It needs to be more of a habit, instead of needing to be inspired

2. This year I would also like to read more of other peoples submissions on Vocal, and to really think about these stories. Giving more insights into the story then. "Great story". To have more helpful comments. Expanding my thinking as well as my reading. I would also hope that people would leave more insightful comments on my stories, so I can improve my writing.

3. Another goal is to proff my stories more carefully. This year I got my first top story. I was really happy but I would like to get more top stories or even place in one of the challenges. With more rereading and time spend on each story, this might be possible. I am trying to think more positively this year. Trying to believe that "I think I can".

4. I seem to write in spurts. If I like the challenge, or have another creative idea I tend to write a lot, otherwise I do not write. I need to write more regularly. It would be great to write every day, but for me that would be unrealistic. I need to just start writing if I don't have a clear idea. Not everything I write needs to be submitted, but writing even if not being sharable is valuable to enhance my writing.

5. The Vocal sites on Facebook often have challenges of their own. I am a member of several of these groups. This year hopefully I will enter more of these challenges. I need to be more consistent with how often I visit these sites, and my inputs into them. I used to be more consistent until I messed up my facebook account, Since I had to rejoin I have become less consistent. One of those sites I used to manage, but I can't approve my own membership.

6. This year I will hopefully be more focused and push myself more. I enjoy the vocal community, and sharing with the members.I should reach out more to interact with other members.

7. Some peoples stories really let you know them. I should make myself more transparent and vulnerable. It is a save envirnment to share your inner-self. Revealing yourself also leads to better writing

I am looking forward for a good year on vocal. The site does help motivate my writing. It also pushes me to try different forms of writing, Although I have to admit some prompts I just can't wrap my mind around. I do usually try to give each challenge a try, even if nothing from me is submited. I have recently gotten two top stories. This has improved my self confidence. Hopefully next year my confidence in my writing will grow. I would also like to explore relationships with other members of vocal beyond just comments on facebook. It would be nice to increase my confidence in this aspect of my life as well.

.

goals
7

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsden4 months ago

    I am also trying to write more without the prompts, but they sure are fun. Some are difficult too, but that's half the fun. Great goals, looking forward to watching your progress...good luck

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    ❤ Happy New Year!

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    I really like your approach to this, Antoinette. I hope to be as realistic with my own goals for this year.

  • Jay Kantor4 months ago

    Dear Antoinette - Not a joiner nor was I ever asked to be one. But (2) Schticks a week...Whew it takes me (2) weeks just to pick a Topic. May I add from my 'Tush~Tickle'...I will delete this in a few minutes so not to steal your thunder:  "Authors: We all have our personalities and unique styles of writing; it would be very boring if we were all the same. OftenTimes our favorite 'Topics' are ourselves - Our Likes~Dislikes: we Type-Banter about with our Stream of 'Metaphors' always leading the way that daily fills our 'VillageBucket." Just from another 'Elders' perspective. btw; Does your heading TypistTats spell 'Writer?' Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fantastic goals for 2024!!! 🥂 Cheers!!!💕❤️❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    That's really pants about your Facebook account :/ Were you the only admin/mod in there?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.