Motivation logo

Giving up the Pursuit of Happiness Made Me Happy

Giving up the Pursuit of Happiness Made Me Happy

By Queen OliviaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Giving up the Pursuit of Happiness Made Me Happy
Photo by Ball Park Brand on Unsplash

Happiness abounds. After all, the key to unhappiness is that the very pursuit of happiness itself! I mean, what's happiness anyway? Are you pursuing what the community describes as fun, or are you pursuing what it means to you?

We see ads, TV shows, movies and merchandise placements everywhere that show that happiness is perfect: perfect smile, perfect body, perfect work, food, home, partner, kids etc. Are we pursuing happiness or are we pursuing perfectionism which will bring us happiness? the reality is that perfection doesn't bring happiness, and regardless of how hard we attempt to control and control our lives, life is just not perfect.

We are led to believe that unhappiness is bad which happiness is sweet , within the same way that decades ago presentation was seen as unpleasant, and revenge as desirable. We now understand that both aspects of personality are perfectly normal and valuable to society.

Happiness and unhappiness aren't a state of being, they're emotions within the experience like fear, jealousy, guilt or love. they are going up and down. Even the foremost desperate person may tease a joke or feel the heat of an act of kindness, albeit it's temporary. even as it's unhealthy to not be happy for an extended time, and it's not healthy to remain happy. We all know the one that beat us nuts with their joy of going crazy with a negative attitude. Are they really happy or is it all just a show of hiding their safety? The façade may are built so securely that they'll even have deceived themselves by believing in their deception.

Lessons for Happiness

I have never been a very happy child within the sense that I didn't have the endless energy of my peers and that i would preferably be alone listening, reading, watching, exploring rather than joining in silly games and senseless gossip. Naturally, this made me a victim of bullying and turned my school life into a nightmare. My peers thought i used to be crazy, and my parents and teachers thought i used to be crazy - i used to be shy, very sensitive, and really serious; I had to urge depressed. 20 years later I learned about introversion and extraversion and realized that I had just been admitted, but at a young age I had no defense when my father scolded me for being "very depressed" and told me to undertake hard to "be happy."

If happiness meant being like other kids I wouldn’t have an interest . I just wanted to be myself albeit it meant not living up to the perfect baby that everybody expected of me. I knew that i might never achieve that goal because it might mean the incorrect thing to do; finding “joy” in things I didn't enjoy and understanding added to me certain feelings of failure, indifference and low self-esteem. Why should I not rejoice in myself, for i'm an equivalent person? Why was the enjoyment enjoyed only by the stunning and funky children? However, i'm determined to not hand over and to vary just like the other kids, focusing instead on being unhappy. i noticed that i'd not be ready to be happy, but that does not mean I should not be happy.

In my 20's I continued to create on this, reading books on psychotherapy and behavioral therapy, personality traits, confidence, relationships and finding happiness and purpose in life. I trained myself to show negative things into positives, to ascertain if things could ever get worse: "I was soaking wet walking from the bus within the rain. But it had been like i used to be on my way home so I could change my clothes as soon as I arrived."

I trained myself to not want an excessive amount of , just to be disappointed - I changed "I want" to "I would really like :" "I want it now" to "I would like it now, but it's okay if you've got to attend ."

I trained myself to seem for other opportunities and situations. If my friend passed me by without saying hello, rather than thinking that perhaps he didn't adore me, i might think that perhaps he didn't see me or that he was during a hurry to prevent .

I learned to seek out pleasure in simple things - to taste a freshly baked donkey, to be warm on a chilly day, and to enjoy the standard fun - working with hobbies while taking note of music.

The True Meaning of Happiness

In the process of not that specialize in the happiness and therefore the restoration of evil, I gained an edge of neutrality; one for satisfaction, consistency, purpose and fulfillment. Surprisingly, once you achieve this, you realize that you simply have actually achieved the important purpose of happiness. So, to return thereto field of experience, to seek out real happiness you would like to seek out balance find satisfaction and meaning a day .

I offer you that it's tough . The happiness described by society is that the purpose of addiction, but it's as deceptive because the rainbow that nobody can truly capture. It takes work to seek out your own happiness and adherence thereto , and life doesn't depend upon your desire. Sometimes i'm wondering if I broke the mirror at some point because the last seven years of my life are extremely difficult with workload, several travels, health problems, operation , relationship breakdown, parental illness and death, earthquake, near death and friend death, unemployment, animal death, financial hardship, many health problems, the list goes on. But overall I feel lucky and thankful for my life because it is. I'm happier in my life now than i used to be before and yes, I see myself ... happy.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.