Motivation logo

Give Us Free: Back2Life, Back2Reality

"Release The Hounds"

By Malcolm BattenPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

*On May 15th the television screen in Brooklyn, New York on NY1 News from my apartment. Governor Cuomo speaks: “The State of New York has now lifted the mandatory self quarantine pause. As we continue to get back to normal. Please continue to be wise and safe. As always, New Yorkers we are resilient.”*

Besides the obvious excitement that would drape over my face. I’ll be reaching into my dresser drawer pulling out my Nike Dri-Fit fitness gear, grabbing my Nike socks and slipping on my Jordan Jeter trainers. Most days I don’t have a need for a pick me up before I do my workout but on this day the scoop of pre-workout wonderment is had before heading to the gym in downtown Brooklyn. Sunshine and the birds are not exactly chirping because it’s 4:30 in the morning. So I’m heading out the apartment to the train station excited to punish my body with some iron like I stole something. I have no shame. The fitness gods have been calling me for weeks. What kind of fitness nut would I be not to step through these fitness cathedral doors? I can't let down my fellow human perspiration generators.

After about 30-45 minutes of clangin’ and bangin’ in the confines of the Sculptors of Greek Gods & Goddesses, it’s time to hit the showers and head back to the crib to continue this glorious venture back to what was once called our reality. I’m feeling so accomplished as I ride to train back to my neighborhood and stop at Starbucks on Lafayette Ave for an extra boost of Nitro Cold Brew with Stevia as the nitric oxide bubbles tickles the hairs in my nose. It’s a minor joy, but I enjoy re-starting accumulating my points on my Starbucks app. Hey, it’s the little things so don’t judge me. With a little pep in my step I get to the crib and switch up the gear.

Since there’s literally a whole new world out there, I head to the closet to grab an outfit the screams “Give us free!” This is basically a pair of Champion joggers, Brooklyn t-shirt, and a Brooklyn Nets hoodie with a pair of J’s. I feel those judgement eyes staring but hey this is a part what I consider freedom. Now back to the adventure at hand. It’s still the am about 9 am so I’m hitting up an Uber to go one of my favorite breakfast spots in Williamsburg over on Wythe Avenue called Sunday/In/Brooklyn. It’s an Atera alum’s American restaurant with a marketplace, barroom, fireplace, a garden, outdoor seating, and outdoor seating.

Of course I’m ordering some of fluffy and succulent pancakes. The epitome of delicious with a side of potatoes and cheddar scramble, and the eggs in purgatory. The visual is so enticing. You would swear I’m a foodie at this point but I’m not really, but I’ve been without this meal for what feels like eternity at this point I still feel like a kid at Christmas when that plate is set in front of me. Yes, I am literally going hold my head over the pancakes fanning the aroma into my nose with my hands with a smile wider than the Joker. This place is Sunday brunch or breakfast everyday of the week and I love it!

After I have enjoyed the vittles I kindly open up my Lyft app because there’s probably a discount for a ride. My destination will be my neighborhood in Clinton Hill and hop out of the Lyft. I’ll take a walk around the neighborhood taking in the sun rays lightly kissing my skin just to absorb some virus free air. Then I’ll head up to my apartment grab my backpack with essentials such as a hand towel, sanitizer, two extra t-shirts, deodorant, mouthwash, and a fresh pair of socks. It’s that time again that I finally can hit the G train to the A train to head to Broadway Dance Academy on West 45th Street in the city to take a hip hop dance in person and not via IG Live, Zoom, YouTube, or Facebook Live.

Don’t get me wrong I enjoyed my freestyle sessions in the apartment and taking class online, but there’s nothing like actually being in a class and vibin’ with the other dancers. That’s a whole different atmosphere that is truly missed. The thrill of learning choreography and performing it with your classmates by the end of the one hour and fifteen minute class. Love and passion of dance is feeling you can duplicate unless you actually feel it. The class ends and the freshin’ up commences and then me and a few of my friends from class head over to John’s of Time Square on West 44th Street for slice of pizza. After we consume those tasty slice we head over to Junior’s on Broadway and West 45th for a slice of the best cheesecake on the planet. To cap off the night we catch a movie at the AMC Times Square on 42nd Street to enjoy the latest blockbuster film such as Marvel Studios’ Black Widow starring Scarlett Johansson. And that my friend is how I would spend my first day out of the COVID-19 Asylum.

goals
2

About the Creator

Malcolm Batten

Writer/Blog/Scrnwrtr/Dancing Dad/https://www.gettingfitandhavingfun.com/Mr-showpiece.com/about.me/showpiece Full Sail Bachelor's Entertainment Business/Master's in Creative Writing. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyugYbQOGNRCOPn0wpVXvYw

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.