Beat logo

Cabin Dance Fever

Q-Tine Playlist

By Malcolm BattenPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

Q-Tine Playlist: Cabin Dance Fever

Remember when you were a kid and you did something you had NOOO business doing? You know, when it would result in an ass-whooping or punishment or BOTH. Depends on the crime committed, right? Four walls now a have an extraordinary and deeper meaning these days. “I’m staying in tonight,” feels like I’m cursing at myself now. But there’s this beautiful thing called music. Music has the power to capture every emotion or feeling with ease. So when your ass has become a permanent fixture between your couch cushions from watching every tv show and film created, its time to take a mental and physical vacation. One of the perfect ways for me to do that is to pull up my Apple Music to bring out the talented kid from London name Tom Misch.

This kid’s music is a gumbo of sounds. If you want to be taken to a tropical island, dance, escape, chill, or groove I have to play what is my Quarantine Playlist from Tom Misch. His new album is perfectly entitled, “What Kinda Music.” This is a journey away from the feeling of being quarantined. This is a smorgasbord of sound from House, Soul, Blues, Jazz, Hip-Hop, Rhythm & Blues, just to name a few. As a dancer, this 45 minutes of bliss has me steppin’ in every style of dance for each melodic track. The first track, the title track “What Kinda Music blast out a humongous smile of joy blocking out the current status of what the world is today. No mask. No 20 second hand washing. No sanitizer. Just me and the Dilla-era soul sound penetrating my speakers.

Tom Misch is the escape literally from my four walls. My playlist is the cabin thera-flu to my cabin fever. Tracks like “The Real” and “Tidal Wave” metaphorically has me surfing with musicality with each chord. For these few minutes I feel like I’m in a disease free healthy world and the only state of emergency is to lockdown the beat and the movement. This is my everyday of escape without having to step outside in a Hazmat suit. We all know these are some tough times and the pandemic has consumed the world. As long as I have my music, as long as I have my ability to dance, as long as I can ride the beautiful imagination in the words of P. Diddy, “Can’t Stop, Won’t Stop!” Musicality, high hats, drum kicks, melodies, strings and vocals are my sanctuary. This album has a couple of instrumentals that will blow your mind. By the way, why does it feel like no dance to instrumentals anymore? Well, maybe that’s just how I’m seeing it right now. This Quarantine Playlist is the key to my sanity. I feel like I still have my freedom for those 45 minutes of musical play time and I wouldn’t change that for the world. You gotta love it. So no matter what you’re doing at home you have got to take some time to enjoy the music.

Tom Misch’s “What Kinda Music” is that perfect tool to escape from the COVID-19 or IDIOT-19 that consumes our daily present existence on this earth at the moment. No matter how minimal that few minutes of escapism is, it is one of the most important actions a human being should be doing right now. There is still a getaway to sanity. So load up your favorite playlist and crank that thing up to ten to escape the somber reality what the new normal fo just this moment in time. No worries because we’ll bounce back like we always do. so let’s get it! The Tunes Escape! There is still a getaway to sanity. So load up you’re favorite playlist and crank that thing up to ten escape the sad reality what the new normal fo just this moment in time. No worries because we’ll bounce back like we always do. So let’s get it! Take the red pill!

album reviews
2

About the Creator

Malcolm Batten

Writer/Blog/Scrnwrtr/Dancing Dad/https://www.gettingfitandhavingfun.com/Mr-showpiece.com/about.me/showpiece Full Sail Bachelor's Entertainment Business/Master's in Creative Writing. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyugYbQOGNRCOPn0wpVXvYw

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.