Motivation logo

Girls stories

“Courage. Kindness. Friendship. Character. These are the qualities that define us as human beings, and propel us, on occasion, to greatness.” ― R.J. Palacio, Wonder

By LENNYPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

"Honesty is the first chapter of the book wisdom."

― Thomas Jefferson

"It's discouraging to think how many people are shocked by honesty and how few by deceit."

― Noël Coward, Blithe Spirit

"You can fool some of the people all of the time, and all of the people some of the time, but you can not fool all of the people all of the time."

― Abraham Lincoln

"Integrity is telling myself the truth. And honesty is telling the truth to other people."

― Spencer Johnson

"No legacy is so rich as honesty."

― William Shakespeare, All's Well That Ends Well

"Waste no more time arguing about what a good man should be. Be one."

― Marcus Aurelius, Meditations

"I cannot and will not cut my conscience to fit this year's fashions."

― Lillian Hellman

"In the end you should always do the right thing even if it's hard."

― Nicholas Sparks, The Last Song

"I prefer to be true to myself, even at the hazard of incurring the ridicule of others, rather than to be false, and to incur my own abhorrence."

― Frederick Douglass

Fell things that my friends told me I remember, but there's one story in particular that I will never forget.

When I was a little girl, I had a dear friend Called Julia. Her mother signed her up in the girls modeling. My mom uses to make beautiful dresses for Julia, so one day my grandma, signed Julia and me to a model thing, I never liked crowded places, but my mother made a dress for Julia and me. We traveled, and I did want to walk, but I was so excited for my friend when we arrived at the place. Julia had long dark hair like me. my mother made the same dress, but I told her, "I am not walking anywhere." Anyway, Julia and I were preparing her to walk in with the other little girl backstage. My mom and grandma left, and it was just me and Julia. I told Julia, "Julia, you better win this thing because mom is upset since I told her that I would not use the dress and walk anywhere." Julia laughed, and I was leaving, when a girl that didn't like Julia, from our school, saw the dress with the other's dress and ripped the dress. When Julia opened the thing my mom put on the dress, she cried. I took my dress, and I gave it to Julia. She dressed and walked with the other's girl and was between the three most beautiful girls in that event. Everything was so beautiful. and later on, we thanked God that mom made two dresses.

Like Julia, in life, some people will try to rip who you are. Your dress is what makes you, your personality, your like human being. That girl tries to destroy Julia's dress to win a competition. But we can't win a good image, destroying other's people dresses, to appear good or better than others. Mom dressed Julia, and the event was so cool. The girl was kicked out of the competition, and the teachers made the girl apologize to Julia. I never saw anything like that, but later on, my teacher told everyone in the class.

In life, there are people who will try to destroy your dress that represent who you are. But this can't steal who you are.

I will never forget that event. In the end, I was happy that grandma signed me with Julia. Otherwise, my friend would not have an extra dress since I was freaking out because there were so many people in one place.

What a lesson for life. Be aware and take care of your dress because people will make everything to destroy it, win or look better. But the truth we cannot look better trying to destroy other's people. We cannot build ourselves, trying to be better than others. The only person we should try to be better is ourselves. The only person you should compete with is with yourself, no one else. If in your life there's a need to put someone down to look good or better. For sure, there's an odd and thing that needs to be fixed. Be aware of that. Are you busy building your dress or destroying others' dress like that girl?

Be aware of the people around you. Not everyone is trustworthy, and be aware of your own acts. Choose to be focused on you, not on other people's life.

“There is a special place in hell for women who don't help other women."

“Most people are clever because they don't know how to be honest." William Gaddis, The Recognitions.”

― William Gaddis, The Recognitions

"Listen with curiosity. Speak with honesty. Act with Integrity."

― Roy Bennett

"Integrity is doing the right thing when nobody's watching and doing as you say you would do."

― Roy T. Bennett, The Light in the Heart

"Good morning, good afternoon, good night. Whatever time you're reading this, have a great day."

- LENNY ✨

quotes
Like

About the Creator

LENNY

Creating , ideas, telling stories with heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.