Motivation logo

Get A Clue: Why It's Imperative to Move Out After College

Birds of a Feather Flock Together; Legends Thrive On Their Own

By Paulina PachelPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1
photo credit Pinterest

For those of us that already graduated college and are in the midst of carving our destined role in the world, the reminiscing of our time in college comes with undertones of bliss and melancholy.

The late-night partying, the many "firsts" and the thrill of a promising future brings a smile to our faces. The world was a little less...hectic. Some will say that we prolonged our adolescent years by holding on just a little bit longer before delving into corporate suits and joining the masses of the workforce.

Some dived into marriage, others packed a suitcase and ventured out into the world...we all have that hippie friend that embarks on a "Eat, Love, Pray" sort of escapade and now lives in Bali.

More power to you all.

The question is...are you truly on your own?

My number one DREAM when I turned 18 was to have a place of my own, but because I don't have Kylie Jenner money, I unfortunately had to halt my plans until after college ended. My only regret while being an undergraduate student was not enjoying the ride to its full extend.

I didn't have the privilege of living on campus. I barely made it out alive trying to keep up with the enormous monthly tuition payments and all the while I kept thinking, oftentimes bawling my eyes out in the bathroom, how I could ever be able to get to a point in my life where I could easily say that I'll be living in the big metropolis of Chicago.

Why was this such an important priority of mine?

When you're on your own, you call the shots. You live by your own rules. You make all of your interior design decisions. You decide when you want to go out, stay out or stay in with no repercussions or guilt trips from parents asking you where you were or if you have any idea what time it is. You manage it all.

When I moved out to my very first apartment at 21, I began to realize that simple, stupid things like the placement of your fragrances and soaps in the bathroom can differ so much from how my parents used to place theirs.

To some, that kind of responsibility can be gut-wrenching, sickening...and in fact I have come to know some people who would prefer to virtually run away from responsibility rather than take accountability.

I grew up sharing a room with my sister and we never resented each other for it, but we often talk about how it would have made life a little easier having our own oasis...especially as teenagers. So, having my own space to just...have a space to call my own was something that was always missing in my life.

When I finally woke up in my own bed, in an apartment that was now my very own bachelorette pad...I felt weird. I felt anxious. I began to question if I made the right decision...a thousand questions whirled through my mind wondering if it'd be too late to get that security deposit...

But then, I looked around. I took it all in. I looked at my coffee mugs, my teas lined up in the corner, my paintings on the walls and I bawled happy tears because I made it happen. For a while, there was a mixture of anxiety coupled with uncertainty and excitement. Once I pulled the reins a bit, established a budget, figured out my spending money and learned how to cook my favorite meals...I began to enjoy life to its full extent.

I eclipsed the beautiful Chicago skyline view from my rooftop. I walked around the neighborhood and soon became a prominent member of my community. I loved it.

I also understand the statistics. As of now, Forbes and Zillow alike report "that only 23% of millennialls still continue to live at home". I understand that not everyone is wired the same. Just as not every one has an entrepreneurial spirit, not every one is ready to become fully independent right away. And contrary to what I'd like to believe, not everyone has a thirst for a side hustle...in order to make it in the big city, you have to have more than one job. It comes with the territory and that could be terrifying.

However, if you're a college kid or soon to be graduate reading this, just know one thing: You want to desperately avoid the boomerang effect.

What is the boomerang effect?

Well, it's definitely not an Aussie drinking game. It's a term that alludes to a kid who is living independently on campus, but then comes back to live with their parents. I think that a boomerang effect is appropriate as long as it has a grace period...like, you move back in for three months and in the interim look for an affordable place, suitable to your liking, preferred location and such...and save enough to get the hell out.

Some people hold back due to student loans, crippling debt and an uncertain job market because I can assure you that college graduates won't even let the ink on their diplomas fully dry before declaring they're hot shit on the internet...holding the most expensive piece of parchment they have ever known.

Hair flip.

Hun. Wait for grad school. That's all I'll say.

This type of ego though leads many to believe that they should be earning a sum above their experience, expertise and knowledge. Some ambitions fall short of reality and that's when many give up...they resort to mediocre jobs that sustain a bit of their spending money, but not enough to cover the bills. Then they proceed to lean on that crutch of support from family, but here's the thing. There's nothing wrong with that...as long as you have a plan to get back on your feet.

Get a job, figure out a doable savings plan and be consistent.

The long-term benefits of moving out.

Think of your credit scores. The one time that I would endorse milenialls to seek the help of their elders or parents is when they are getting their first apartment. Many of us are crushed beneath layers of cumbersome debt, but making rent on time can boost your credit score significantly and get you one step closer towards becoming a foreseeable home owner.

As for me, I'm not in a huge rush to be a home owner because with home ownership comes the responsibility of being handy with tools...and I happen to like my expensive manicures.

However, getting back to the point of paying rent on time teaches valuable money management skills, prioritizing with regards to spending and planning for things like vacations, furniture, food, leisure and so on.

I truly believe that while living at home for most is a viable option, growth happens the moment you decide to step out of your comfort zone. It's time to say goodbye, fly out of that nest because while it's known that birds of a feather flock together, true legends thrive on their own.

advice
1

About the Creator

Paulina Pachel

I am an intricate mix of flavors and you'll get a taste of them through my writing pieces; versatility and vulnerability go together like a fresh-baked croissant+coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.