Motivation logo

Future Writers Go This Way

Is that the right way?

By Van ElizPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
NOT MY IMAGE

I'm not going to lie. I'm not a full-time writer, but I know I'll get there someday. You may understand the struggle that becoming a successful writer is not following steps, but creating your own. Yes, it is possible and yes, great writers share amazing advice. Right now I am only nineteen years old, but you gotta start somewhere, right? I've been writing since the age of eight. Some years I didn't write at all, others, I wrote for days without wasting a single minute. I hope you can relate to this and if you do the same as I do... Congrats! We might be successful writers one day. Nowadays, I try to write as much as I can, so I can finally fulfill the dream I had since the age of eight. Writing takes A LOT of hard work, and sometimes you feel like it's impossible to achieve it or you simply have writer's block! My advice is to play your favorite playlist. I actually have one called "believe" that motivates me and makes me feel like I can achieve it and nothing is going to stop me! I'm not going to lie... Even Hannah Montana's songs are on the playlist. It's childish and some people might call it stupid, but hey. It works. I am proof of that. I can't assure you, you will find glory and become the most famous writer, but what I do know is that never giving up no matter how many times you've failed is the key. How do I know that if I'm not a famous writer? Because I've given up many times and haven't found the success yet, so I guess the path of not giving up is the one I have left. Your best friend will become "coffee" and if you are over 21, it can also be alcohol (Just saying, I'm not implying you'll become an alcoholic). One other thing... Don't you like the last paragraph because of your lack of effort? Got the solution! Read it again and if it makes no sense or doesn't imply what you wanted to transmit.. Here's the answer. DELETE. I know it hurts to delete that piece of writing. Sometimes you think, "What if it's the next masterpiece even though it doesn't make any sense?"Like famous authors from different ages through history that you know, it's a masterpiece, but you don't really understand what they meant. Fine. Don't delete it. Just copy and paste it into another document and save all the crappy paragraphs you write. Maybe later in the story, it will make sense! That's just my advice to you. I know it's not much and I am not a well-known writer (YET), but I can assure you that my advice wasn't followed by me. To be honest, I did the opposite. So, the opposite of what I did might be the answer! I'm still trying to find the right path and I make mistakes; everyone does, but what helps us is that we learn. Sometimes you get so disappointed because you haven't written anything good in weeks, but guess what? HIT PLAY ON THAT PLAYLIST. I promise it will help. Never give up. That's what all successful people say... "never give up." You sometimes need to act like you can never get enough, because I'm sure one day you'll look back and thank that crappy paragraph you once wrote because it became a masterpiece and now you're known by the world! If that's not the case, at least it helped you to know what NOT to write. I really hope you hear my name one day and you'll know I succeeded. In the meantime, I won't give up and don't you dare to mention that word when you're working, because that's the only failure and mistake you'll ever make. If you believe in me, why wouldn't I believe in you? I know you can do it and I hope to see your name in a bookstore one of this days.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.