Motivation logo

From Boring to Breathtaking

Just Say Yes!

By SARAH STEWARTPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

One day, on a plane, I watched a movie that literally changed my life from blah to something extra special. And it could happen to you and I'll tell you how!

What was this movie? Jim Carey’s "Yes Man". In the movie, the main character is living a dead-end life following a painful divorce and is going nowhere fast. He decides to say Yes to life by grasping any and all opportunities, requests and invitations that come his way. Learn to speak Korean? Yes. Play the guitar? Yes. Bungee jump? You get the idea.

I was hooked. The kids had grown and left home. Now what? I had empty spaces in my life, but I wasn’t filling them, and time was moving along. What’s the first thing I was saying to myself when I wanted try something different or go somewhere interesting? “Oh, I can’t afford it. I don’t have anyone to go with. I’m not really that interested.” (And how do I know that when I never even tried it?) My favourite,” I am too tired.” (No wonder.) All just different ways to say No.

I was fed up with myself, so I made a commitment to do the Yes Project for one year and say Yes to life. So, you’ve heard of the cosmic joke. It’s when the universe decides to seriously challenge your commitment when you decide to make a radical change in your life. “Are you really really serious? Let’s find out Sarah Stewart,” it said.

It was the Monday morning after my momentous decision. I worked in a prison and a lot of my co-workers were Correctional Officers, young and strong, who obviously spent a lot of time in the gym. For some strange reason I was invited to participate in an outdoor paintballing war with them. We would be in two armies and would defend our fort in the forest while also charging off to attack the other side. I couldn’t believe it! They had never invited me to anything before. Why me? Why now! As for the activity – it was one I planned to do when hell freezes over - as the saying goes. But I was on the Yes Project. So, I said Yes. I went paintballing.

At the end of the day I was covered in bruises. I shot at people and they shot back. I felt as though I was in war zone. It was every bit as awful as I had anticipated.

But what I learnt was that I can do what I say I’ll do. That’s how I knew I really was ready for the Yes Project. The next thing I did (that I would have said no to before) was building the Canada Day Float (I have no skills), and riding on top of it in the Parade. What! I waved and threw candy. I found I was chatting to people I didn’t usually talk to. I was thinking about myself in a different way. This was just the first week.

I went to the Church Picnic. I always said no because obviously, as it was held in summer, it would be too hot for me. I met a new friend there and she told me she was Icelandic. That was all I needed. Do you want to go to Iceland? Yes, she did. (She must have been on the yes project too.) All my life I wanted to go to Iceland, and I was going. (And had the best time ever!)

At work I was asked if I would transfer to the Aboriginal Healing Lodge as they were short staffed. What could I say? “Yes.” Even though it meant moving house. I participated in sweat lodges and pipe ceremonies, danced at tea dances. It was an honour. I learnt so much about Indigenous people.

I met my partner during this time. (“Yes,” I said, “let’s go for coffee!”) I stopped smoking when I said Yes to acupuncture. (Yes, it worked!) I offered to organize our training program at work- nobody signed up for that one. I didn’t pull the ‘too busy’ card. Relationships got better..

I went on a course in Ontario, despite not having enough time or money. Excuses were kicked to the curb. I learnt how to become more intuitive, which is a good skill. And then I ended up in England learning about painting as a spiritual practice.

I always wanted a dog – what better time than the present! I was on my way to the grocery store and for some reason ended up at the Humane Society. They had just one little dog needing a home, so I gave her one.

I learnt to do raw food "cooking" which led to some weird dinner parties, and to make jewelry which turned out to be a good idea for giving presents although I learnt I don’t really have the knack. I joined the Astrology Society and when asked to be the Vice President, I said, “Yes, it’s in the stars.” I found myself at the Wildlife Society feeding orphaned robins with an eye dropper and nursing baby squirrels. I joined a Zumba class and learnt to dance to Waka Waka There is an amazing amount of things to do! Who knew!

I was now asking myself what I wanted - a question that hadn’t occupied my mind for many years, if ever. Doors kept opening as I met new people and went to new places and I dreamed and made plans and carried out things I wanted for a change.

So, when did I stop doing the Yes Project? I never have stopped doing the Yes Project and it has been 12 years now. Last year I even got married. Bride and Groom were both 70 years old but we both wanted to say Yes, I do.

There is a John Lennon story I heard once about how he attended a Yoko Ono art exhibit. As you know, Yoko Ono later became his wife but at that time he didn’t really know her. She was very avantgarde in her creative work and this art exhibition was kind of depressing with objects representing decay and the finality of physical life as well as showing our suffering through life’s challenges. The visitor had to walk around the gallery on a particular path and the grand finale was they had to climb a tall step ladder to reach the ceiling. Stuck on the ceiling was a piece of paper folded in half. You had to open the piece of paper and there was one word written on it.

John Lennon walked around these sad exhibits then climbed the step ladder. As he reached up to open the paper on the ceiling, he said to himself, he didn’t know why, that he would be devastated if the word written there was “No”. Of course, the word was “Yes” and he said it was at that moment he fell in love with Yoko Ono.

Despite everything that challenges us in life, all the difficulty, pain and loss, still we can say Yes to all the joys life offers. As writer Ayn Rand said, “Serenity comes from the ability to say “Yes” to existence.” It’s a magical word.

Emanuel Swedenborg said, “Love means setting aside walls, fences, and unlocking doors and saying 'Yes.' " So, I am challenging you. During the next few weeks, try saying yes to new ideas, invitations or opportunities that come your way. See what happens! You might be glad you did!

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.