Motivation logo

Folding My Way to Happiness

The journey of 1000 paper cranes

By Emilia the BatPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Folding My Way to Happiness
Photo by Ice Tea on Unsplash

 I’m one of those people who will do anything to make their wishes come true. From throwing pennies into wishing wells to scouring the skies for shooting stars, I’ve done it all. So, to no surprise, when I found a way to combine my passion for crafts with the promise of happiness, this thrilled me. Without a shred of hesitation, I began the epic journey of creating a senbazuru. 

So what exactly is a senbazuru? 

The most literal translation is “1000 Cranes”, or more specifically it is a 1000 Orizuru (Origami Paper Cranes), which are held together by strings and beads. You read that right, I am folding 1000 origami cranes. 

But why cranes? Not only are cranes mythical or holy creatures in Japan, they are also said to be extremely lucky and live for 1000 years. Each crane folded represents one year of its life and according to an ancient Japanese legend, by doing this one of these creatures will grant you a blessing.

Some variations promise one wish to come true, while others promise a long life of happiness and good luck. It is also common that a Senbazuru is given to someone with a severe illness or injury to aid in their recovery. It is also a popular gift. Used to wish couples long fortunate marriages, babies to have long good lives, and even athletes to be victorious. 

You may see them hanging outside of Japanese war memorials as a symbol of peace or folded for charities and raising awareness. They can bring communities together for everything from cancer to wildlife conservation to natural disaster recovery. 

My decision to make a Senbazuru:

I have seen these garlands of paper cranes in books and anime alike. Both fascinated by the story behind them and the promise of good fortune, or even an important wish coming true, I decided to look into them. 

I paint and draw but origami is far from my strong suit. I wasn’t sure it’d even be possible. But has that ever stopped me before? What if I could truly find happiness by folding small sheets of paper? So as I do with many things, I opened YouTube, set the video to half speed, and watched person after person fold these cute little cranes. I knew it would be a challenge, that it might not be possible, but that only made me want to do it more. I cut squares of paper and I began. 

How do you make a Senbazuru? 

First, you must have your paper squares. Though these cranes are traditionally made of colorful origami paper, you can fold a Senbazuru out of anything. With a good pair of scissors, you can turn magazines, newspapers, printer paper, or anything else you have to fold them. I had started on white printer paper. 

Second, learn how to fold a crane. I found EzOrigami’s video to be extremely helpful. Not only does he work slow, but he is very descriptive to beginners. I suggest doing a few practice cranes before you begin your journey to 1000. Don’t feel discouraged if the first few take a while to make. It will get easier and faster. 

Three, folding your cranes. This is where things get difficult. After the fifteenth crane, it becomes clear this will take a while. It may very well test your patience and determination. 

Four, thread your cranes onto strings, add beads to hold cranes in place, and make a wish. Not only do you have a crane’s blessing, but bragging rights and beautiful new decoration. 

My Experience: 

By Carolina Garcia Tavizon on Unsplash

I never expected this to be an effortless task. After all, folding one crane took a few minutes, a thousand would take days. I had to wonder if it’d be worth the time spent if my wish never came true. Quickly, I discovered this process was more about the journey than the destination. 

Though, yes I am getting sick of petal folds there is something oddly therapeutic about this act. While going through these repetitive motions, the mind wanders freely from the hands. I would often question if my wish was really what I needed most. If not, what would be a better option? What did I need? Not only did this test of intentions but pushed my patience and will to continue. Over time folding became meditative. It was time I could have to focus on myself. Which, admittedly, can be as bittersweet as it is beneficial. Though I only made it halfway before receiving an impairing injury, I am on the course to competition and even if I do not receive my wish, the experience is more than enough to make me happy. 

__________________________________________________

From the bottom of my heart, I recommend giving it a try! Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed.

For all of you interested in learning to fold paper cranes I would highly recommend checking out this video: https://youtu.be/FyC7pkT-dE0 by EzOrigami

If you'd like more content like this, (or wish to see progress pictures of my Senbazuru) follow me on twitter @Emilia_the_Bat to be notified when I post. Hope you all have a nice day and be safe.

~Emilia

happiness
2

About the Creator

Emilia the Bat

An aspiring writer and artist looking for an escape from her day job.

https://twitter.com/Emilia_the_Bat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.