Motivation logo

Finding the Root

Insecurity

By Kiara SimsPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Validation fueled me for a long time. I sought the approval from my parents, my friends, even strangers. I wanted to know I was doing something right. I desired this so much so that I stopped living for me, and started living for everyone else.

My aspirations did not belong to me anymore. They belonged to everyone looking at me. I lacked my own purpose and design. I was so unfocused, because I focused on everything BUT me. I was living like this for so long, that I became a pro of the "poker face." Everyday, I got up, got dressed and put on my best face just for everyone else. It was robotic. There was nothing behind my smile, my jokes, my laugh. Because internally, I was empty as shit. It was as if my false confidence was a way of coping. It was a distraction from the root—the root that was the catalyst of so much internal conflict. I had to do some soul searching, and realized I sought these things because I was insecure.

Insecurity.

It's the root to a lot of people's pain. Mine included. For years, I was told so many negative things about myself, that I became negative. I was like a sponge. I absorbed every little thing. When I say everything... EVERYTHING. I was not just insecure about my physical appearance. I was insecure MENTALLY.

I didn't see fit. I could never stay the course because I would give up solely because of self doubt. You know how many times I dropped a CLASS because I didn't feel "smart" enough to pass it. You know how many times I pursued a business venture just to stop because I didn't feel like my content was "good" enough.

So I had to say fuck that shit... all that shit. Fuck him, her, and them. Because truthfully, I am enough.

So what woke me up?

1. Therapy

Don't be afraid to seek help. It's money well spent. I really lacked internal happiness. You ever felt so unhappy that even though there's so many good things going your way, you're STILL not content. That was literally me. I was so so down. My therapist started connecting the dots for me. She challenged me. She showed me that everything I was feeling were mere falsehoods that I constructed in my mind. Don't let your mind play tricks on you. Find yourself, then find your purpose.

2. Support

Good friends make all the difference. For so long, everything I was feeling internally remained between my diary and I. (LOL YES bitch, I have a diary. PERIOD) I was afraid that disclosing my battles internally would make them see me in a whole new light. Wellllll... they did see me in a whole new light. They saw my TRUTH. Find your forever friends, and let them support the REAL YOU.

3. Self Love

Loving yourself is the best medicine for a broken soul. I started piecing together the things I loved about myself. Self love eliminates the urge for validation. I believe this journey of self love I'm on brought me to start a blog; to finally SPEAK.

Love,

Ki

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.