Motivation logo

Experiment with the New Year

Adventure with glee at home

By James LovettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Experiment with the New Year
Photo by Karl Fredrickson on Unsplash

In a year with so many unknowns down the tunnel, including how long we are all still at home, my resolution is to embrace the encroaching persona of the mad cooked up scientist and try all the weird and wonderful things I can. 2021 should be the year of experimentation. So far I’ve begun with just some fun oddities and hobbying. We bought a harness and leash for our cat who always loves staring out the windows but always gets nervous when we go outside. She is in love with the outdoors now and wants to go on walks nearly every morning.

My second venture has been centered around my obsession with coffee. Since graduating I’ve been mostly doing simple drip or instant coffee but it’s time to step up my obsession if I am ever to claim the coveted title of “Coffee Snob”. And if I was gonna go extra I was gonna find something where I could learn as well, which brought me to buying my own Turkish coffee set. I love learning about other cultures and reading up on the cultural significance and practices of Turkish coffee as I brew it in my stylish tin pot over a stove fire. It always makes me forget about quarantining and more like I’m doing my best to travel in my home. And along with the coffee came more experimentation, for it is tradition to serve Turkish coffee with a plate or bowl of sweets (not that I have guests to offer either of them too but, oh well). Turkish delight was recommended but I wanted to set out and learn how to make a treat that I always enjoyed with my morning coffee on the streets of New Orleans.

Macarons! I love a single macaron and an iced latte in the morning so why not learn to make my own rather than pine for them with memories of Mardi Gras (I know they aren’t very emblematic of Mardi Gras but that's when I have the most so sshhhh). Some almond flour, marzipan, and a whole bunch of ingredients and specific tubing aids later I have my own mediocre method of macaron madness and neat custom piping patterns to boot. I can’t enjoy them walking on the busy streets but a nice sit on the couch with The Mandalorian on will do just fine.

And lastly, I started my own blog and nervously shared it with my friends. I write monster stories and occult fiction (a stark contrast to my otherwise sunny disposition) and generally just enjoy seeing what crazy stuff I can come up with in a couple of hours of amateur writing sessions. It keeps me thinking and dedicated to something that's my own even if it's incredibly niche and I suck at web design.

And you know what, I’m not gonna say I have forgotten my want to go see my friends or that it has made me forget everything wrong that happened last year. But what I will say is that this has all brought back a boyish spirit of adventure I haven’t felt in some time. And in a time of potential isolation, both physically and mentally for many, I think everyone could use a little bit of adventure. Even if it’s inside their homes. So with a new month coming, I’m looking for something new to make or try and I’m happy about it, not overwhelmed or pressured. I’m not limiting myself to things that will make me have new career skills or certifications. I’m just looking for the small oddities and varieties that lie all around to make my own. Because variety truly is the spice of life.

goals
Like

About the Creator

James Lovett

Watch the Bestiary grow at www.thefamilybestiary.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.