Motivation logo

Everyday life behind the wheel

what characterizes the profession of driving instructor

By Anna KlausPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Everyday life behind the wheel
Photo by Orkun Azap on Unsplash

I am a driving instructor by profession. This means that I spend most of my day behind the wheel - or in the seat next to it.

My job is a unique combination of dealing with a wide variety of people, a great deal of responsibility and many exciting moments. In the following text, I would like to give you an insight into this extremely varied profession and perhaps inspire you to take up this special job.

Supporting people on their way to a mobile life

My job is not just about teaching my students how to handle a vehicle and the relevant traffic rules.

For me, my job is much more about supporting people on their way to a mobile life and thus to their driving license. Of course, I also teach them the skills and knowledge they need to master road traffic and all its challenges safely and confidently.

This is how training to become a driving instructor works

But where did my journey to becoming a driving instructor actually begin? The first step, of course, was the decision to take up this profession. This was followed by the relevant training.

The driving school instructor training can certainly be described as demanding. Not only did I learn all the traffic regulations down to the smallest detail, but I was also taught numerous new communication and teaching skills.

My instructor also supported me with the practical part, which is of course also part of the training to become a driving instructor. An important point here, for example, is finding the perfect balance between pedagogical teaching approaches and the pure technique of driving.

The best aspects of my job

For me personally, one of the areas that I find particularly fulfilling in my day-to-day work is teaching theory to my students. In addition, it is always extremely exciting for me to watch people sit behind the wheel for the first time, often shaking with nervousness, and then a few weeks later successfully pass their driving test and hold their license in their hands.

I am there to support and understand them at every stage. It gives me great pleasure to share my personal knowledge and experience with them so that they will soon be able to drive safely and independently on the roads.

Are there any challenges in my job?

Another exciting aspect of the driving instructor profession is that each student has a completely unique personality. This means that every training course can bring a new challenge.

In this context, I see it above all as my job to always respond flexibly to the individual learning styles and needs of the students. This in turn requires certain character traits, such as good adaptability, a great deal of patience and basic trustworthiness. These soft skills already show how versatile the profession of driving instructor is.

Of course, it should not be forgotten that my job comes with a great deal of responsibility. I am aware at all times that every student who completes their training with me will soon be sitting alone behind the wheel of a vehicle. This means that they not only bear a great deal of responsibility for themselves, but also for other road users. For this reason, it is also very important in my work to be aware of this great responsibility that I bear as part of the training.

Simply passing the theoretical and practical test is not the goal - it's about ensuring that my students can later drive responsibly, proactively and therefore safely. In this respect, it is also exciting that many of my former students are still in contact with me today. I am always pleased to hear how confident they now feel behind the wheel.

success

About the Creator

Anna Klaus

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AKWritten by Anna Klaus

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.