Motivation logo

Edging Closer

What happens when you live life on the edge?

By Autumn BrownPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
It was the most beautiful view I have ever seen!

The wind danced playfully around me, and the clouds seemed just within my grasp. I was alone, saved an occasional eagle or hawk that soared where no other birds dare go. The wind felt cool and soft as it brushed my cheek, and whirled past my ears. No camera could capture the beauty of this place and its magic. I looked down at my tennis shoes and then at the sparse grass around them. Distant deer romped merrily around a small pond. I could barely distinguish them for they looked like tiny dots. Farther east I noticed the most handsome horses grazing together in a large herd. Young foals and fillies danced and dashed after each other, kicking their hind legs up as they went. I bent down and picked up a loose rock and tossed it gently over the edge.

Maybe if I got a little closer to the edge of the mountain top I could see more.

Slowly I shuffled my feet a little closer, and I gazed at a prettier view than I could have thought a few small steps had to offer. Craning my neck I was satisfied only for a short time. After a few moments I decided to make my way a tiny bit closer and squirmed my way a foot more.It is so amazing I can't begin to describe it all, large groups of evergreen forests dotted the countryside north of me. To the west a valley with a small stream running through it and colorful flowers lining its bed. The calm blue waters drifted lazily, gleaming as sunlight reflected from its surface. Dreamily, my mind wandered to how magnificent everything looking from the view I had.

What if I just got a couple inches closer, what would be the harm?

So then I crept just a smidgen nearer to the edge and before long was right at it. There where I stood was the most breath taking view I have ever seen. Not at all afraid that I was too close, I just watched happily at what was around me. Billows of birds flew beneath my feet, and clouds beneath them. They swooped effortlessly seeming just to enjoy being free and wild, only guided by the wind itself. The sun, the horizon now warmed my face luring me to move toward it with its beckoning rays. With out thinking my feet took another step, and horrified I slipped and fell. Too scared to scream, terror gripped my heart and I forced my eyes shut. I fell for what felt like hours wondering, when will I hit the ground? When will I die?

Awaiting a horrendous splat I knew I would soon hear, I hugged myself tighter, waiting for my horrible fate because of my own carelessness.

I awoke to a thud, my body shook awake as it hit the floor. The wooden boards groaned angrily from the unexpected impact. After a moment I gathered my bearings and looked around my room letting out my breath that I had been holding since I fell. Standing up I brushed myself off relieved to still be alive and that my dream was not reality. I looked in the mirror of my vanity and brushed back a loose strand of hair. Smiling I wiped the sweat from my forehead and climb back into bed, pulling the covers to my chin I promised myself never to live on the edge again.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Autumn Brown

I'm a new author starting here to practice my writing. If you like what you read please share with friends on social media or send a tip if you wish:) Your support is always welcome.Thanks again!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.